Skip to content

The Growing Challenge #7, In Pictures

April 18, 2008
As promised:

About a month ago, my comfrey was finally planted from the gallon nursery container that housed it since last summer into the ground in my front medicinal herb garden. It was dormant then and I had my doubts that it would make it, but it’s growing quickly and has minimal snail bites.

Here’s the lemon bee balm that I added to the lavender strip. They seem to have weathered the transplant very well. Some are looking perky and vibrant, while a couple looked like they are recovering, but still very strong.

My Ruby Star echinacea is looking so shiny and healthy. This particular plant, which I planted last year, never got a chance to bloom because it suffered so much snail damage. The ground eggshells seem to be working effectively because it has little snail damage this year. You can see a snail curled up there, but I removed it and threw it into the street, because I can’t bear to squash them myself.

A Sargent cherry tree which was planted in my median last year; you can’t plant fruiting trees there, so we have a flowering cherry. Both of the Sargent cherries are flowering and I’m excited to see this because they didn’t flower last year and the set of trees before these didn’t live their first year.

This is my medicinal herb garden. It has filled out nicely is the past (almost) year. The following photo is how it looked last year when I first planted the mint, chamomile seeds, lemon balm, rosemary, echinacea and santolina.

My how it’s filled out!

I don’t think I will be getting any outdoor gardening tasks done this weekend. They are forecasting a strong possibility of snow (no joke!!) Friday and Saturday nights! Crazy weather. Snow in the Willamette Valley in mid-April??

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    April 21, 2008 5:10 pm

    It has filled out wonderfully!

Leave a Reply

