Skip to content

Two Aprons, The Beacons of Light in a Rough Few Weeks

April 13, 2008

I haven’t had all bad things happen in the past few weeks. I scored a vintage gingham half apron on Ebay for $2.99. It’s purple with this cute, simple embroidery on the bottom.

Another good thing is that I did my part on my very first swap with an internet acquaintance. I traded a kombucha scoby and soap with Paula for a retro-styled apron. I can’t wait to get it!

I love my aprons. I have to credit Angelina for turning me onto the world of aprons at the end of 2006. The first aprons that I owned were made by her, excepting some vintages ones that my mom sent me a few years back that didn’t really fit and/or were falling apart. There is one in near mint condition that she sent, a full coverage apron with blue paisley on a red background with blue binding that I hope to fit into someday, because it’s a great one.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. april. permalink
    April 14, 2008 4:34 pm

    you know i love aprons. i really do wear them often. i think maybe my grandma would be surprised and confused that i like them so much i wear them out of the house, but then, i’m sure our grandmothers never thought there’d be a day when visible bra straps would be de rigueur.

  2. Angelina permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:08 pm

    I have a lavender gingham apron just like that that my brother gave me for a birthday! so pretty!

    I have lots of aprons I would like to fit into. So I guess I should go do some low fat cooking and get some exercise.

    Aprons are the best.

  3. Lisa permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:26 pm

    Oh, this post ended up being timely because last night I watched an episode of What Not to Wear that I recorded a few weeks back. The bad dresser had a dress that she was wearing over jeans and under a jacket that looked similar to an apron and they were totally bashing aprons. I love WNTW and Clinton (more so than Stacy), but I was disappointed that they were so down on aprons.

  4. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:35 pm

    Hi Lisa,
    Your apron is done, and we will mail it out either today, or tuesday.
    I must say, I am having a hard time parting with it :o)
    I may need to make myself one like it LOL!
    Paula

  5. Lisa permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:41 pm

    Oh Paula, that was so quick! I’m very excited. I better email you my address.

  6. Lisa permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:49 pm

    I’m a dork. All the excitement must have fried my brain cells temporarily, because it just occurred to me that you already have my address from the package I sent to you!

  7. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 14, 2008 9:12 pm

    Yes. I do have it ;o)
    By the way, the scoby is ebjoying its new home as far as I can tell.
    Besides my cranberry and crowberyy wines, its the only thing fermenting well.
    We use an ozone air purifier which kills all molds and knocks all the dust out of the air.
    So, my ginger bug for ginger beer is not growning yet, even though its been sitting for three days.
    I may need to close off a room for my “growths” !
    Also, we the soap is wonderful. Steve loves minty things during the summer, when he is doing the Alaskan thing of working when its light out; ie., all the time.
    Paula

  8. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 14, 2008 9:12 pm

    Yes. I do have it ;o)
    By the way, the scoby is ebjoying its new home as far as I can tell.
    Besides my cranberry and crowberyy wines, its the only thing fermenting well.
    We use an ozone air purifier which kills all molds and knocks all the dust out of the air.
    So, my ginger bug for ginger beer is not growning yet, even though its been sitting for three days.
    I may need to close off a room for my “growths” !
    Also, we the soap is wonderful. Steve loves minty things during the summer, when he is doing the Alaskan thing of working when its light out; ie., all the time.
    Paula

  9. Lisa permalink
    April 15, 2008 10:44 pm

    I had trouble with starting a ginger bug. It seemed like it never got fizzy, but it did eventually get mold. I want to try it again sometime, but I keep forgetting.

Leave a Reply

