Skip to content

Soap Nuts

April 10, 2008

I’ve heard of Soap Nuts before, but didn’t want to spend money on a whole box plus shipping if I didn’t know they worked. Then I made a stop at our smaller health food store, which I hadn’t visited in a long while. They were carrying Soap Nuts, along with many other products they didn’t use to stock. So, I bought the sample size that they have and I will report on how they work. In a nutshell (harharhar), they are berries or nuts of the soapberry tree, which contains natural saponins thus they can be used in laundry or soaked to make a stain remover or general purpose cleaner. Soapberry trees were being cut down in their native lands and sold as firewood and lumber by the poor farmers, but selling the nuts allows them to make a living and allow the trees to live as well.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 10, 2008 5:14 pm

    How interesting!! I’m looking forward to hearing how it works!!

  2. april. permalink
    April 13, 2008 8:08 pm

    hmm. i admit my suspicion. but even if the don’t work well, the idea of a soap nut is pretty cool. maybe they’d be good for delicates?

  3. Lisa permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:53 pm

    I think they’d work very well for delicates and probably even a multipurpose cleaner. Maybe I can plant a soapberry tree here, then they’d be an economical option for me!

  4. Lisa permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:53 pm

    I think they’d work very well for delicates and probably even a multipurpose cleaner. Maybe I can plant a soapberry tree here, then they’d be an economical option for me!

Leave a Reply

