Skip to content

From Patient to Convalescent

April 8, 2008

My dear husband is now home recovering. He was released late this afternoon and is doing pretty well.

Now the next part, which will be painful in a different way than surgery, is tackling the huge bill that I know will be coming our way. Not having insurance isn’t so bad until you find out that insurance companies pay doctors and hospitals far less than the uninsured get charged, because they are able to negotiate it down with their huge amount of power while we uninsured people really have no bargaining power. I keep feeling deep inside that I shouldn’t worry, because it will be okay, things will fall into place and it won’t be as bad as I fear. And generally things work out that way, but still it’s so hard to release that worry.

An interesting thing happened yesterday when I was in the waiting room during Lawrence’s surgery. I grabbed a Woman’s Day magazine and as I sat down I saw a copy of The Bible on the table. I closed my eyes and opened it up feeling that I would be directed to where I needed to read. I opened to the page where the book of Job ends and Psalms begins, so I read both the first chapter of Psalms and the last book of Job. The last book of Job says that Job had three daughters and after all the hardships that he endured he was blessed many times over. (He also had seven sons, if I remember correctly.)

We were blessed to have so many kind nurses and staff that we dealt with over the past day. Lawrence’s anesthesiologist was the father of one of our CSA farmers and Lawrence had actually met him before, so it was nice to have that connection in a stressful time. He also got an excellent surgeon. The best at the hospital we were told. We are thankful for all the prayers and well wishes we’ve received and so grateful that we have such caring friends and family.

Sp, I will conclude this update that ended up becoming much more than the few sentences I planned on writing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    April 8, 2008 1:47 pm

    How true it is that it’s hard to let go of the worry of your bill. But as you said, things always do work out in the end. I have had to remind myself of that, and as soon as I turned it back over to God (again) and keep trying not to do it myself, our finances are improving.

    It’s interesting the part you picked in the Bible. I have been picking up my Bible again during the last week. I have been reading whatever verses of Psalms and Proverbs it falls open to.

    Mike and I are so happy Lawrence is at home and doing well. Just don’t let him overdo because that will set all of you back further in the long run. Your whole situation will continue to be in our prayers. Love, Mom

  2. Angelina permalink
    April 8, 2008 4:02 pm

    I know your guest bedroom is pretty big, but I don’t think you can stash seven sons there.

    I’m glad Lawrence is home and recovering. I think it’s all going to be alright too.

  3. Fountainpen permalink
    April 9, 2008 2:12 pm

    My parents, who are uninsured, negotiate their hospital bills. At the start of March my dad had an operation and was able to negotiate the price. They also negotiated dental payments, 10% off when getting wisdome teeth removed.

  4. Lisa permalink
    April 12, 2008 9:37 pm

    Fountainpen-thanks for chiming in. Our hospital has a discount program available for the uninsured, so we are pursuing that route and will also try to negotiate with the individual providers.

Leave a Reply

