Skip to content

The Smell of Antiseptic

April 7, 2008

That smell weirds me out at hospitals. My house doesn’t smell so chemically, nor do the other places I frequent. This is something I pondered as I sat in the emergency exam room waiting for my husband to come back from radiology this afternoon. We aren’t regular partakers of Western medicine, so hanging out at a hospital was kind of a perverse adventure. It turned out that Lawrence needed an appendectomy; the doctor on call thanked us for coming in when we did so that he didn’t have to get out of bed at 2:00am, which is why appendixes were created in his opinion. Then he was prepped for surgery. A scary thing since I’ve never had surgery nor has Lawrence, with the exception of getting his tonsils removed when he was wee boy. The nurse assured us that a tonsillectomy wasn’t a real surgery like this would be.

My dear hubby is recovering at the hospital and I am recovering from the stress of the man I love going under general anesthesia and worrying that my children weren’t behaving well for my dear friend Angelina. Angelina deserves a huge thank you for spending her afternoon and evening watching the girls so that I could be at the hospital. I’m sure she had other things she would rather have done on a Sunday, but she came over quickly after I called pleading for her help and she offered to stay as long as necessary. Thank you, so much! Good friends are worth their weight in gold. That’s saying a lot if you’ve looked at gold prices recently.

Now, hopefully my husband can get home quickly, heal quickly and get back to work soon to pay off that large (but completely worth it) bill we just incurred today.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 7, 2008 12:14 pm

    Lisa, I am sooo sorry about your Sunday at the hospital! I hope your husband feels better soon! At least you went before things go really nasty inside!

    My hubby tends to lose body parts when I am away on very infrequent trips! Last summer it was his gall bladder while I was help Not Quite Grown get set up at college! I think he’s trying to tell me not to ever leave him alone!!

    Best wishes to our hubby and a plate of chocolate chip cookies to Angelina for being such a good friend!

  2. Evelyn permalink
    April 7, 2008 1:42 pm

    I am so glad he is doing well. Times like these are when I really wish we were living up there already so I could pitch in and lend you a hand. Right now the best I can do is pray and give you my support from afar. You know you always have that.

    Surgery is scary, I have been thru it twice. I had outpatient procedures also(2 at one time)but the reason it wasn’t so scary is I spent most of the time calming Mike down. lol Although it did keep me from being so nervous.

    Love, Mom

  3. Laura permalink
    April 7, 2008 2:26 pm

    I know the stress of sitting through the surgery of the one you love, I had to sit through several hours with Pat’s surgery. I don’t wish it on anyone. I’m glad you all are through that part and I’m praying for a speedy recovery. He is a strong man, I’m sure he will do great.

  4. Lisa permalink
    April 7, 2008 4:16 pm

    Thanks for your kind words, Lisa. I’d thank Angelina with a plate of cookies, but we are trying to support each other in weight loss, so I think that might not be so good of me. I might thank her in feta cheese though! She can’t buy that becaue she is doing local eating for a year, but she can accept gifts of food that isn’t local.

    Thanks Mom and Laura for your prayers. They mean alot to us!

  5. Angelina permalink
    April 7, 2008 7:10 pm

    You’re welcome! You always do whatever you can to help me out when I need something so I didn’t hesitate for a second. I’m glad I was home to get your call.

    I hope Lawrence gets to come home today- I know the girls will feel a lot better seeing him at home and I know you will too.

    Ooooh- feta! YUM.

    I also hate hospital smells.

  6. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 7, 2008 7:18 pm

    Hi,
    Praying for a quick recovery for your husband.
    So, I looked at the soap scents, and I think I would like the Rise and Shine bar.
    We both like peppermint in the morning :o)
    I will run over to the fabric store and pick up fabric right around the 14th, and will get the apron made asap.
    April and may are our worst months for finances. Then June arrives, and Steve starts guiding and I start my summer job. So thats why I need to wait a few more days.
    Paula

  7. Steve and Paula permalink
    April 7, 2008 7:27 pm

    Say, I need your email so we can exchange addresses.
    You can put it in a comment on my blog, since I have it set to moderation. That way I can just delete it, rather post it for all to see.
    Paula

  8. Prairie Momma permalink
    April 8, 2008 4:03 am

    WOW!! We’ll be praying for all of you. I don’t envy you having to wait at the hospital wondering how things are going. John’s never been under the knife, but we’ve had one child have surgery and a couple of emergency room trips for others. I’m usually the one under the knife (6 major, 5 minor). Even though I’m accident prone (John knew before we got married), I must admit I do like the drugs. I could easily become an addict, John says, and I agree. Quick recovery to L and quick pay off to the hospital (Caleb’s total came to nearly $800,000 when it was all said and done, so you can be glad your bill won’t hit those numbers!!)

  9. Lisa permalink
    April 12, 2008 9:38 pm

    Thanks for all your prayers!

Leave a Reply

