Skip to content

Procrastination Emerges Again

April 6, 2008

I made topsy turvy dolls for Maddy and Isabel Christmas 2004, when I was pregnant with Juliana. We even knew she was a girl. That’s why I can’t figure out why I didn’t save the instructions and/or the name of the book that I got the pattern and instructions out of. You’d think it would have occurred to me that at some point in the future I would want to make a matching doll for the unnamed baby girl in my belly. Maybe I just didn’t realize how dearly the other two would love their dolls, so I didn’t even think to save that information. However I came to that decision, it was made and here I am with a third birthday coming up and a desire to make the same topsy-turvy doll. I’ve looked for that book since before Christmas and haven’t been able to find it at the library, where I originally found it. I didn’t find any other patterns that I really liked enough to buy, so I bit the bullet and decided to try to make it using only my memory and the copies of the pattern (without the instructions). I bought the fabric several weeks ago and have done a bit of work here and there, but the bulk of it is unfinished and the birthday is a mere handful of days away now. I better get busy in the next couple of days. I’m sure I will get it done on time, because I generally do, but I don’t know why I always leave it til the minute. It can get a bit stressful.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacy A. permalink
    April 7, 2008 3:24 am

    Lisa, I followed you here from Angelina’s blog. Those dolls are so precious. They make me think of dolls in centuries past. I can see your girls dragging them along at play and cuddling them close at night. The dresses are perfect. Good luck on making your new one. I believe in you. If you do figure it out I would love a simple over view. Love Stacy

  2. Lisa permalink
    April 7, 2008 3:51 pm

    Stacy-Thanks so much for your kind words and you faith in me. If I figure it out and get it done in time, I will post an overview.

  3. Angelina permalink
    April 7, 2008 7:13 pm

    Ha! I was just going to say that once you figure it out you can make your own pattern for it to share with others! It looks like Stacy is first in line for one.

    I think those dolls are charming and if I had a little girl I’d make her one too.

Leave a Reply

