Skip to content

The Demolition Across the Street

April 4, 2008

I’d like to know what the heck is going on across the street. We used to have tennis courts that were old, it’s true, but they were fenced and it was a great place to let the girls loose to run and ride bikes and we could watch them from the porch without having to be right there.

I’ve had suspicions that something was going to go down soon. Construction type people kept coming to stand in the middle of the courts and write things down and talk on cell phones. An excavator appeared on the median the day before yesterday, then yesterday morning work people arrived with more machinery and started knocking down the fences, ripping up the asphalt and then chipping the cement tennis court pads.

Are they going to put in new tennis courts? Make it into a parking lot? What is going on? I wish I knew somebody in the know that I could ask. Whatever they do, I hope it doesn’t exacerbate the heavy traffic from the high school nearby and leave an area that we can use for play.

Meanwhile, the girls had fun running in the grass and looking at the large machinery and also watching the work men. Here are a few photos from our site inspection (after the work had halted for the day, of course):



Juliana was too intimidated to go near the concrete chunks and equipment. That timidity is apparently the only side effect of a mysterious rash she suddenly broke out with today.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 4, 2008 4:11 am

    Yes it is. This isn’t my sister, Laura, is it?

  2. Laura permalink
    April 4, 2008 2:15 pm

    Yes it is your sister. They are building 4 new tennis courts. I looked it up online. So you will have 4 new tennis courts for them to play on.

  3. Lisa permalink
    April 4, 2008 2:37 pm

    Wow! Thanks for looking that up. Where’d you find it?

  4. Lisa permalink
    April 4, 2008 2:41 pm

    Just a quick comment for anyone reading the comments and becoming confused. I deleted my sister’s first comment so that my street wouldn’t be listed online.

  5. Laura permalink
    April 4, 2008 8:43 pm

    Sorry, didn’t even think about the street being put up. My bad. I found it looking for upcoming construction in McMinnville, OR. It was on the school district website.

  6. Lisa permalink
    April 5, 2008 2:27 am

    No biggie. It was easy to delete. I just didn’t want people to think I had started a conversation with myself!

Leave a Reply

