Skip to content

Dandelion Envy

April 3, 2008

Lately I’ve been thinking about edible plants that we usually consider weeds. Then the latest issue of Mother Earth News arrived in the mail and there was an article with dandelion recipes. To top that off, when I walk downtown I usually pass this house that has some impressive dandelion specimens in their yard. See? This one is at least 16″ in diameter. It could make one or two dishes by itself. I have dandelion envy. I wish I hadn’t gone so passionately about eradicating them from my yard for years, because now we have only a few puny ones here and there. I hope we aren’t in for really hard times, because if we are, that blue house with the dandelions is first on my list of foraging possibilities.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacki permalink
    April 3, 2008 9:26 pm

    I love it when the dandelions start blooming! We feed them to our tortoise, Orion. I’m always happy to see them perk up their beautiful yellow heads, because that means that Tommy will no longer be sneaking handfuls of my beautiful organic salad mix to feed to him 🙂

  2. Angelina permalink
    April 4, 2008 5:05 pm

    I actually saw an older woman picking dandelions the other day-she had a basket of them, it was awesome. I wanted to ask her if she was going to make some wine with it but I think I was on my way to the tax man or something.

  3. Lisa permalink
    April 5, 2008 6:19 pm

    Jacki-That is an excellent reason to be happy for dandelions. Have you ever eaten them yourself? I haven’t but I’m interested in trying them. If turtles like them and organic salad mix, they’re probably good, right?

    Angelina-I don’t think that lady was picking where we were talking about, because those are still there!

Leave a comment