Skip to content

The Growing Challenge #4

March 25, 2008

This is going to be a fairly dull update. I haven’t done much in the way of gardening in the past week. My garlic is growing nicely. It is almost a foot tall. The chard bed is actively growing again. My mints are rapidly spreading. I killed two of my tomato seedlings. Who knew that water could evaporate so quickly from a covered box? It’s weird, though. It was the two tomatoes in the very center of the box. I think it might get the hottest there (from the heating pad underneath) and just dry out faster. They are really dead. Not just droopy.

I haven’t started any more brassicas, which I should have done on Thursday and I don’t know that I will find the time today.

I do need to get outside and get some seeds into the ground this week. Peas, lettuce, cilantro…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    March 26, 2008 3:34 pm

    I cannot wait to get out of the purgatory of waiting that I have been in. I want to be out in my new garden and starting seeds and all that good stuff.

    I’m so sorry that you lost a couple of tomato seedlings. That’s such a bummer.

    Have you got any cilantro growing? Have you got any cilantro seeds that you could start? Could you grow some and then give me some?

    That’s what I want most right now, cilantro.

  2. Lisa permalink
    March 27, 2008 9:33 pm

    One of the tomatoes actually came back to life! So now I’ve only got one dead one.

    I don’t have any cilantro growing yet. That’s one thing that I need to plant this week. I’ll give you some when I have it, because we don’t eat a ton of it.

Leave a Reply

