Skip to content

An Update on the Clothesline

March 22, 2008

I’ve been using the basement clothesline for three weeks now. The great news is that I have been able to cut my dryer usage by about 66%. The bad news is that laundry day ends up being a really long four or five days. I’m okay with that trade off. It’s not terribly labor intensive or inconvenient. Here’s the method I’ve devised, since I have only about 25-30′ of line. I hang everything that takes up a reasonable amount of vertical space. I run about two loads of socks, underwear, wipes and diapers. I just don’t have the line space to devote to those items right now, but I’m looking forward to better weather so that I can expand my line to the back yard!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 22, 2008 11:36 am

    Yeah, somehow that 40′ line i bought doesn’t seem to be very much now! Since I have mine mounted to a tree, i will have to get creative if I want to add another line.

    I read once that if you have two parallel lines, you get effective double that space by hanging things like diapers “between” the lines. Pin one edge to one line and the other to the parallel line. Then the clothes stack up like records in a stand!

  2. Lisa permalink
    March 22, 2008 8:17 pm

    Lisa-I’ve been contemplating putting one of those spinning umbrella clotheslines in the back. Another thing that will help having them outside, even if it was one line is the drying time. Since it is in the basement without much light or any type of breeze, it can take anywhere from 12 to 24 hours for the clothes to dry, depending on the type of material and thickness. So, having a breeze outside will sure speed things up.

  3. han_ysic permalink
    March 27, 2008 4:27 am

    Suggestion for socks and undies is to get or make a clothes drying rack eg http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/21ZBMGB6TGL.jpg I use one a bit different to this and can fit a whole washing machine load of clothes on it to dry overnight (thick things like jeans take a little longer)

  4. Lisa permalink
    March 27, 2008 9:57 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion, Hannah. I might have to look into one of those.

Leave a Reply

