Skip to content

Lemon Soaps Galore

March 19, 2008

I got some more soaps made today. That’s good because I am either low on or out of all my soaps. I don’t know why I’ve had such a mental block against it for awhile. I enjoy doing it, it’s not that difficult and it makes my kitchen smell divine. I think it is just having one more thing on my to do list can be discouraging sometimes. I made lemon sage, which is always one of my favorites and and also lemon thyme which inspired by the lemon thyme that I planted last week. You may remember that I wish I had a whole bed to roll around in, so I decided to make a lemon thyme soap. It looks pretty with dried thyme swirled into the bar. Here’s the soap log before I cut it.

And here are the pretty lemon thyme bars:

And the lemon sage bars:

Now I have to be patient and wait the two weeks for them to cure. That is the hardest part about cold-process soap making-the waiting. I need to whip out another batch today or tomorrow, because I have an order for plain soap that I need to get done. Then after that I need to get some other scented ones done to replenish my supply. I experimented with the suggestion of bergamot lime, but didn’t like it so well that I want to make soap out of it. I will try some of the other suggestions soon.

On the subject of soaps, I found out today that Lawrence is cheating on me. In the shower today, I found a bar of old Sappo Hill soap that he bought before I started making soap. Hmm…are my soaps not lathery enough for him that he has to go looking for it elsewhere? I know that tea tree is his favorite scent and I haven’t made it for him in a while, but I’ve run out of tea tree oil and haven’t reordered yet, because I need a minimum order. Is that justification to use Sappo Hill soap?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    March 20, 2008 1:13 pm

    The soap looks wonderful. I want to try the lemon thyme next time I order soap. I also need to check to see if Mike is running low on tea tree soap. Your soap is the only one he wants to use.

    PS I meant to tell you I like the new colors on your blog.

  2. amy permalink
    March 20, 2008 2:16 pm

    A cheating soaper no! 🙂 Where do you order your lye from? I need to order some and am not sure if I have the right place to order from or not.

    Amy

  3. Lisa permalink
    March 20, 2008 7:05 pm

    Mom-I don’t have any tea tree right now, so I hope he’s not out.

    Amy-I’ve ordered from Texas Natural Supply before, but I’ve found that I can get it cheaper at Lowes. It’s the only bricks and mortar place that I’ve been able to find that carries it around here. If you have a Lowes near you, you might look for it. It’s the Roebic brand of crystal drain unclogger or something like that. The ingredient list shows that it is indeed sodium hydroxide.

  4. Angelina permalink
    March 21, 2008 6:53 pm

    Yeah, unfortunately I do think that’s grounds for soap cheating! How much tea tree oil do you need for a batch? You can use what you need for one batch and then maybe by the time it’s cured and Lawrence uses them all up I will have a few things to order and we can combine?

    Let me know. I could bring some by today. Was there another scent you needed from me? I know you didn’t want the ylang ylang…but wasn’t there another one you needed to use some of? Let me know, OK?

Leave a Reply

