Skip to content

The Growing Challenge #3

March 17, 2008

I was able to complete my lavender strip that I started planting last week. I planted two more lavender plants, which I had to purchase on Saturday, because I underestimated how long the strip was when I first bought plants. I also laid cardboard on top of the dirt as a weed barrier and then compost for mulch on the very top. I added a strip of bricks, which I hadn’t planned on doing, but it was begging for some kind of solid barrier to keep the dirt and grass from eventually eroding, and a surface on which to put my lawn mower wheel. We have a lot of loose bricks in my backyard so I snagged some for this purpose. I think that I will add some bee balm and maybe some echinacea in between the lavender plants in the next several weeks. I can order bee balm starts through Azure Standard. Lawrence would like me to do the side on the other side of the steps, which you can see at the top of the picture below because he thinks it looks lopsided now, and I would like to do it as well, but I am grounded by the indecision of what to put there. I was originally thinking blueberries, but now I’m second guessing myself. They take a couple of years to produce and I don’t know that I want to put the money into them if we may not be in this house in a couple of years. On the other hand, if we are still here, we can enjoy the blueberries. Still, I can’t decide. I don’t want something that is only ornamental. I want something useful, that will also be somewhat bushy and at least 3′ tall to provide a bit of privacy to that area.

My seedlings are growing and new ones are sprouting. All of my tomatoes have sprouted, except one of the Gardener’s Delight Cherry tomatoes. To recap my tomato varieties, I have: German Orange Strawberry, Koralik, Stupice, Cherokee Purple, Garderner’s Delight Cherry, Opalka, and Black Krim. The varieties in italics are new to me this year.

Also sprouting are: Italian Large Leaf Basil, Derby Day Cabbage, Nutribud Broccoli, Oliver Brussel Sprouts and Red Russian Kale. No peppers, eggplants or chives have made an appearance yet.

My new heating pad came in the mail a few days ago, so I don’t have to rotate so much now.

I would like to get out sometime this week and get some seeds planted outside in the ground, maybe we will get some dry weather. I’ll also start another round of brassicas inside.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Prairie Momma permalink
    March 17, 2008 10:52 pm

    Go ahead and plant the blueberries. If you’re still there, you can enjoy them. If you move, you can either be happy knowing someone else will be enjoying them (and might even be a selling point for the house) or dig them up and take them with you. You can then plant some other bush there for the new buyers. I’m just hungry for blueberries right now, so I’m all for planting them…..

  2. Lisa permalink
    March 17, 2008 11:16 pm

    I probably should have also said that a big part of the consideration is cost. Blueberries can be had for $8-16/plant and I would need at least 8 but 10 would be better. That’s a chunk for a strip planting. It wouldn’t be bad if I knew we’d be eating from them, but since I don’t that’s the catch. Also, good u-pick blueberries can be had around here for $1.25/pound.

  3. april. permalink
    March 18, 2008 2:47 am

    i am much impressed by all you’ve got going on already. your garden is going to be awesome! (and my sad little lavender plants are still on my front stoop).

  4. Evelyn permalink
    March 18, 2008 12:58 pm

    You have done a wonderful job as usual. I wish I was up there helping you plant.

  5. Lisa permalink
    March 18, 2008 3:19 pm

    You two are so kind. I always feel like I’m behind on my yard and gardening, so it’s nice to hear the compliments.

    April-Just keep watering them, they’ll survive until you get them into the ground! I had plant sitting on my porch for a week or two before I got around to doing anything with them. In fact, I just put some into my hanging baskets on Sunday that had been on the porch for more than a week.

  6. han_ysic permalink
    March 20, 2008 3:06 am

    I love your front garden and agree, the other side would make it look even better. Plant choice, difficult to suggest because I am in Australia, what about some veges like eggplants or tomatoes that will grow into a nice bush, they have pretty flowers and the fruit is quite ornamental too? Perennials I would be less sure of.
    Hannah

  7. Lisa permalink
    March 20, 2008 7:01 pm

    Hannah,

    I didn’t have the greatest luck with eggplants last year, but tomatoes would be an excellent idea if I decided to go with annuals. That is south facing and would provide a lot of sun.

    I think I would like to stick with annuals, but you’ve still given me things to think about.

  8. Angelina permalink
    March 21, 2008 6:48 pm

    You could do artichokes. You certainly won’t need as many since they grow tall and wide pretty quickly and if you don’t eat the veg you will get gorgeous huge thistles that make great cut flowers and I think the plants are wonderfully ornamental.

    Your seedlings are really coming along nicely!

  9. Lisa permalink
    March 21, 2008 7:10 pm

    I’d never considered artichokes. Hmm. More to think about.

Leave a Reply

