Skip to content

Almost-Spring Gardening

March 14, 2008

Last year I converted a hodgepodge bed in my front yard into a semi-medicinal herb garden. I’ve wanted to continue the theme into other parts of the front, which are currently occupied by lawn. I want to keep some lawn because it creates an excellent, organic mulch for my vegetable garden. I purchased some lavender plants on Sunday when the weather was gorgeous, but my gardening plans were thwarted by emergency business errands.

This is kind of what it looked like before, except that I forgot to take a picture of the part we worked on, so I had to take a picture of the other side.

See that strip of bare ground? That’s the large strip of grass that Maddy and I removed the old-fashioned way…with a straight edge shovel and elbow grease.

Here’s a side shot. It started sprinkling when we had about 3/4 of the grass removed, so we had to work quickly before we ended up in a mud pit. I still need to add cardboard and then mulch after it stops raining.

See my one of my pretty lavender de provence?

I also added a Roman chamomile and a lemon thyme to the established herb bed. The lemon thyme is so fragrant and smells divine. I want a whole bed of it that I can just roll around in.

Here are some of my seedlings when I checked in on them this morning. I have cabbage, brussel sprouts, kale, cabbage and basil up as well as a few tomatoes in the other container.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 14, 2008 2:10 pm

    I just love seeing what people are doing in their gardens! How brave of you to strip the grass off the old-fashioned way! That’s tough work.

    You seedling are looking fine too!

    Ps, I nearly drooled on your pizza post!

  2. Angelina permalink
    March 14, 2008 2:41 pm

    Great pictures! I love what you’ve done, it’s going to be so pretty as it fills in.

    Lemon thyme is wonderful.

  3. amy permalink
    March 14, 2008 4:13 pm

    Great job on digging up that sod it’s hard work! And the herbs will look beautiful.

  4. Lisa permalink
    March 14, 2008 9:08 pm

    Lisa-I don’t know that I would have undertaken the project if I had known how much work it would entail! I kind of underestimated it at the beginning.

    Angelina-Now you know what we were doing out there when you and Max drove by!

    Thanks Amy!

Leave a Reply

