Skip to content

Saturday Morning Eggs

March 8, 2008

Aren’t these eggs beautiful? We buy them from my friend Jacki and her chickens range all over their vineyard and pop out these pretty brown eggs with gorgeous orangey yolks.

I can cook them up into these cheery, yellow scrambled eggs.

I was watching Rachel Ray’s 30 Minute Meals about a month ago and she was making a dish that escapes my mind now. She wanted the eggs she was scrambling to be really yellow, so she said that her secret was to add an extra yolk. The girls and I just chuckled and said that she should just buy real, pastured eggs and then she would have them yellow with no hassle.

My girls are smart that way. A couple of months ago when we bought some chicken at our health food store, Isabel asked me who raised it. How many five-year-olds do that?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    March 8, 2008 11:56 pm

    I don’t like my eggs to taste yolkier than necessary so I would never opt to add yolk. I make an almond biscotti that calls for lots of yolk and I always have to reduce it a little so I don’t taste too much yolk.

    You’re so right about fresh home raised chickens though, they already have such bright yolks you’d never need add any.

    That pile of eggs looks delicious.

  2. april. permalink
    March 9, 2008 2:42 am

    so pretty with the morning light shining on them and the steam rising. we just had a conversation last night about the remarkable color of the eggs you sent home with me the other night. sometimes the store bought ones we get have an orangey yolk, but most of the time when i whip up some scrambled eggs, they’re so pale and pastey and i think they look disgusting like that.

  3. Lisa permalink
    March 10, 2008 4:39 am

    Angelina-I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who told me they didn’t like things to taste too yolky.

    April-I get the same thought when I whip up store bought eggs. Thank goodness it has been many months since I’ve had to use store bought eggs. I’ve never had Sheila’s eggs, which is what I gave you, but I expected they would be rich and beautiful inside.

  4. amy permalink
    March 10, 2008 6:17 pm

    That’s funny your daughter asked who raised it? Excellent. I still haven’t told my daughter she has eaten chicken before (she’s 3).I worry once i tell her what it is she might not eat it anymore and she’s so picky i don’t want to risk it!

    My dad sometimes puts a bit of milk in with the eggs we give them since the yolk is so yolky and rich. I don’t bother and think they are perfect just the way they are. šŸ™‚

  5. Lisa permalink
    March 11, 2008 12:58 am

    Amy-I usually put a splash of half and half in my eggs because I don’t like hard scrambled eggs and it keeps them a bit on the softer side.

Leave a Reply

