Skip to content

My New-Fashioned Clothesline

March 3, 2008

I’ve had clotheslines on my mind for a couple of weeks. Ann Marie at Cheeseslave posted about them last week along with links that she found while shopping around, Lisa at Colors Outside the Lines posted about them as well as some super cute clothes pin holders that she made and she also told me that she got hers at Home Depot.

It never dawned on me that a conventional home improvement store would carry them. Since we don’t have a Home Depot nearby, I looked online at Lowe’s and found that they carried them online and in my local store. I headed over and they do carry them, but they were sold out! Who knew they were so sought after? I checked Bi-Mart, no luck. I was despairing that I would have to wait for Lowe’s to restock or even order online, when I decided to try our local farm store/Ace Hardware. They didn’t have them next to the clothes pins, so I decided to walk a few more aisles down and at the end of the paint aisle, they had a whole display of energy saving laundry devices. Retractable clotheslines, an umbrella clothes rack for outside use, a wooden rack for drying…you can’t imagine the triumph at that moment! The retractable clothesline I decided on was more expensive than at Lowe’s ($24.29 versus $15.88) but it was immediate gratification. So, I headed home with a bag of wooden clothes pins and a retractable clothesline and after a misalignment in the first installation attempt, look what I ended up with:

Please pardon my unphotogenic basement

I hung it in my basement because it is winter, and although we have had a recent mostly dry spell, Oregon is quite wet all winter and mostly unsuitable to outdoor clothes drying. I will hang what I can in the basement during the winter and install one outside as the weather improves. I figure that I should be able to cut my dryer usage by at least half using the basement line. With the cold, damp and lack of breeze it will naturally take longer to dry down there.

One note on my clothesline. The housing and parts are made from plastic, which doesn’t thrill me, and I generally try to steer away from plastic purchases, but this is what all the single line retractable clotheslines that I saw were made of. I’m crossing my fingers that it is sturdy and long lasting.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 3, 2008 2:55 am

    I am so proud of you for finding a clothesline!! It looks great!

    Don’t worry about it being plastic, they almost all are. The plastic won’t get rust marks on the clothes, but the woven cloth (nylon?) line tends to stretch and sag.

    Thanks for the nice comments about my “creations!”

  2. Lisa permalink
    March 3, 2008 3:29 am

    Thanks Lisa!

    I should have clarified that I’m not worried about the plastic line, I’m worried about the plastic housing breaking or worse, the plastic plate that attaches to the wall. Seems that metal would be much longer lasting.

    It’s funny. My husband grew up in France and he told me that whenever anyone came across galvanized steel wire or aluminum wire, it was quite the score because you could use it for a clothesline that didn’t rust!

  3. Lisa permalink
    March 3, 2008 2:12 pm

    I forgot to say that I have basement envy! I loved having a basement and/or an attic and now I have neither! Not to worry about the unphotogenicness of yours, I lust after it all the same!

  4. Evelyn permalink
    March 3, 2008 2:28 pm

    We used to have a galvanized wire clothesline when I was growing up. They are great! I love the smell of sheets that have dried outside in fresh air! Here in Florida I wouldn’t even try drying clothes outside. It is way too humid. Although, maybe I could rig up something in the big extra room. As much as the a/c has to be on the dry air from it would probably dry it just fine. And you make fun of me for hanging my clothes up after just fluffing them for awhile. hehe Not only does it save on the dryer bill, but it makes my clothes last longer. Drying them all the way in the dryer is very hard on fabric. Especially when people over dry them. I am not implying that you over dry yours. It was just an added comment.

  5. Lisa permalink
    March 3, 2008 8:16 pm

    Thanks Lisa. It sure does come in handy.

    Mom-I think you misunderstand. The thing I find weird is the half and half. Either dry them or hang them, what’s up with the kind of drying then the hanging!

    I bet you could rig something up in your room. The clothesline retracts when not in use! You could check your local Lowes or Home Depot.

  6. april. permalink
    March 3, 2008 10:15 pm

    this is the first house i’ve been in where i *haven’t* installed a clothes line straight away. somehow, it got shuffled to the bottom of the list this time around. i need to get on that!

  7. Evelyn permalink
    March 4, 2008 2:01 pm

    Sorry I misunderstood. The thing with the half and half, is if I fluff my dress pants and blouses they don’t need ironing. I hate ironing.Which also requires more electricity, so I will stick with the fluffing.

  8. amy permalink
    March 4, 2008 6:20 pm

    Good for you to get a clothesline! I have two outside and they are made from this metal plastic coated wire that’s really sturdy. It’s so sturdy that last weekend the neighbor asked to remove it because part of it is attached to his fence. Ooops! It’s a pain to get used to hauling everything out there but the scent and the money saved are worth it!

Leave a Reply

