Skip to content

Your Favorite Books

March 1, 2008

I have a gift certificate at Amazon that I have been saving up and now I think I want to make a few book purchases. Some of you will know what a momentous occasion this is, because I almost never purchase books; I am a voracious reader but also a regular library-goer. As an infrequent book buyer, I’d like to really buy books that I will use a lot and won’t regret purchasing. One book on my list is Wild Fermentation. What five books do you find most useful, reference frequently and would recommend from any of the following categories: cooking, traditional cooking, gardening, urban homesteading, canning/preserving, herbs/herbal medicine, homeopathy or any other category that is similar and you know I would dig?

PS I’m asking a lot from you guys these days, aren’t I?
PPS I could have taken a break from Blog365 today, since it is Leap Day and the official break from blogging, but I didn’t. I was going to, but I decided I had to have input on these books tout de suite.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 1, 2008 6:34 pm

    Well I have far too many favorites to list but here are some of my recently enjoyed favorites.

    The Victory Garden Cookbook by Mirian Morash (this has actually been a favorite for about 7 years).

    Barnyard In Your Backyard – Gail Damerow

    Preserving Food Wihtout Freezing or Canning

    Charcuterie – Ruhlman and Polcyn

    Seed to Seed – Suzanne Ashworth

    Jana

  2. Lisa permalink
    March 1, 2008 6:56 pm

    Oh Jana!! These are right up my alley. I’ve put The Victory Garden Cookbook on my short list of possibilities to buy this time around and the others are now on my wishlist.

  3. Lisa permalink
    March 1, 2008 6:59 pm

    Oops, I also put Preserving Your Food Without Freezing on the short list.

  4. Lisa permalink
    March 1, 2008 9:51 pm

    Wow! I will have to think about the books and soap flavors. However, I really like Jana’s list!

    Thank you for hearting me at my shop! I feel so special! Guess I need to get some other things in there though, huh?

  5. Prairie Momma permalink
    March 2, 2008 5:21 am

    You are so good about being practical. When I first read your request, my mind started flitting through my list of favorite books – none of which would fall in your categories. I so love those impractical books such as Les Miserable, Silas Marner, North & South (currently reading), and my list could go on and on. I do love those books on your list, but I love the great fictions that sink into your soul and cause you to ponder and think about life – I suppose that means I much prefer philosophical things to the reality of cooking, gardening, preserving, etc. :):) Just call me an impractical subvert or rebel!!! :):)

  6. Lisa permalink
    March 2, 2008 6:45 pm

    Lisa-I can’t wait to see more stuff in there!

    Cathy-You crack me up. I read lots of impractical, fiction (most of them are not classics). In fact, the majority of the books I read are fiction. The thing is, I can get all those books from our library and I almost never read the same fiction book twice. I just don’t. A reference book will get lots of re-reads and thumbing through, that is why when it comes to purchasing, I would really only purchase non-fiction books in those types of categories. I do own some fiction books, but they were given to me or I bought them at thrift stores. Also, I think that growing your own food and preparing it well and lovingly *is* philosophical!

    One final thing…you are reading North and South and Angelina is watching it and kind of related, I have Mansfield Park recorded on the Tivo to watch soon.

  7. Lisa permalink
    March 2, 2008 6:56 pm

    One other final thing. Angelina-I just reserved North and South from the library so I can see what all this Richard Armitage hullabaloo is about.

  8. Prairie Momma permalink
    March 3, 2008 5:22 am

    Oh, do read N & S first. As always the book is better than the movie. We love the movie, though and watch it often. We also have Wives & Daughters – book and DVD. We love that era as far as literature and movies go. If you’re looking for more wonderful fiction to check out from the library, look for Woman in White and Moonstone – both by Wilkie Collins.

Leave a Reply

