Skip to content

Michael Pollan Does It Again

March 1, 2008

I just finished In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto, by Michael Pollan. It was great. I recommend it to all of you who haven’t already read it.

It is much, much shorter than The Omnivore’s Dilemma. Pollan, as always, fills the pages chock full of good information with his typical wit. It was a real pleasure to read and made a lot of pieces of the food equation fall into place for me. I knew much of the information already, but sometimes there were still “Aha!” moments.

I love this from the next to last page: “…in our time cooking from scratch and growing any of your own food qualify as subversive acts.” I like that so much because I believe it is true and it’s a sad reflection on our society that those activities are subversive and uncommon. I’m so glad that I have a set of real life and online friends who are subverts just like me and I think that if we can continue to spread our subversiveness, these arts will become more conventional again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Prairie Momma permalink
    March 2, 2008 5:25 am

    Hey, I’ve increased my subversiveness by 2 already. Caleb sat down at the table the other night with red cheeks, and Sarah immediately told me that she thought he looked like he might be running a fever and could she give him some Vit. C and immune booster? Yeah!!! It’s rubbing off without me even realizing it. Two daughters that love the idea of being homemakers, caring for their families by using more natural, wholesome things – what more could one ask for than to see this trend could more than likely spread to the next generation with more zeal than it has in our own generation.

  2. Evelyn permalink
    March 2, 2008 1:26 pm

    Please, please continute to spread it. I love that both of my daughters prefer the natural, homemade style. It is helping me get back into wanting to make more of my own things again to.

  3. Angelina permalink
    March 2, 2008 5:53 pm

    I have felt that growing your own food and cooking things from scratch were like acts of civil disobedience for a long time now and it is wonderful to see that so many others have been on the same road as me all this time, discovering and learning, and now I can find them all online and it’s getting easier to find them in real life too.

    I can’t read that book until I finish the other one. I think my reading life may improve with the move. I can’t explain why. I just do.

    I promise, I will finish that book and I will be so excited the day I can tell you that I have finally done it and you’re going to be so over it at that point!

  4. Lisa permalink
    March 2, 2008 6:51 pm

    Cathy-That’s great. It reminds me of my girls. Whenever they are feeling a little congested or feverish, they immediately come and tell me they need Vit. C and echinacea.

    Mom-I will continue to spread it. No worries about that! I don’t think I can stop.

    Angelina-I will never get tired of Omnivore’s Dilemma. We can chat about it whenever you finish it. I love it. I just won’t be quite as sharp and fresh on the details as you will be when you finish, so you’ll have to bear with me!

Leave a Reply

