Skip to content

What is Home?

February 26, 2008

Angelina posed the following questions regarding home on her blog yesterday. It is a timely post because home has been on my mind a lot lately. Some of you know that we are keeping our eye out and have a medium range plan of moving to a small acreage (two to five acres) in the future. As we contemplate real estate listings for possible properties, it makes me think about our own home and how it serves us, how much we love it and how much we would miss moving out of it. If only our present home had more of a lot, even a double lot would probably serve our purposes. I wonder if our neighbor would tear down his house and donate the land to us. He’s a bachelor, he doesn’t even use all that space.

What does your home do for you?

My home offers physical shelter from the elements, but it also offers mental and emotional shelter. It is a place that is safe and secure and is surrounded with love and warm memories. If I’m having a certain type of bad day, just hanging around the house is sometimes just what I need, although sometimes taking myself and the girls out of a confined space also works for making a day better.
Our home also represents stability to me. I lived in quite a few places when I was growing up and we have been in our current house for almost nine years. This is the only place that Isabel and Juliana have ever lived and Maddy only has very vague memories of living anywhere else since she was two when we moved in.
What do you do in it that matters?
We live, love, fight, raise our children, fight about raising our children, cook great food, read great books, spend time together, plan our garden, run our business. Most everything we do in our home matters. We try to live intentionally, so I think it all matters.
What kind of memories are you making there?
Mostly happy ones. We are making memories of being a young family and raising our children. There have been so many memories made in the past nine years.
What’s your favorite room in your house and why?
I don’t know that I really have a favorite room, but if pressed I would say either the living room or the kitchen (even though it’s not an ideal kitchen). I certainly spend the most time in those two rooms.
If your house burned in a fire what would make you the saddest about it?
The loss of the feeling of security and stability. The tragedy of a beautiful old house being destroyed. The loss of any personal mementos being burned. The thought that we wouldn’t be able to live in those rooms that witnessed so much love and happiness and even conception.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    February 27, 2008 5:56 pm

    I think it will be a huge transition for you guys when you do find a property that suits you. I know that it was really hard moving out of our last house because it was the only house Max remembered being in and it was perfect for us and fit our life so well. However, we were only in that house for four years. So you have an extra five years of memories in your current house. You know, people have been known to move homes from one location to another. It seems impossible to me, but maybe you guys could do that!!!

  2. Lisa permalink
    February 27, 2008 6:12 pm

    Actually, we have discussed moving it! It is very costly and truthfully, I would like a house that is a bit larger.

  3. Cindy permalink
    February 29, 2008 5:19 am

    The house thing has always been a hard one for me to get my head around. I would be devastated if my house were destroyed, which it could well be since we live very near a major fault and on the edge of a regional park (fire, you know). And I’m not totally comfortable that I’m that attached to a building. But it’s my home, the only one my daughter has know, built of old redwood, not to be replaced.

    I appreciate your effort to put it all in perspective. Lots of good, thoughtful stuff on your blog. I’ll be back to visit!

  4. Cindy permalink
    February 29, 2008 5:19 am

    The house thing has always been a hard one for me to get my head around. I would be devastated if my house were destroyed, which it could well be since we live very near a major fault and on the edge of a regional park (fire, you know). And I’m not totally comfortable that I’m that attached to a building. But it’s my home, the only one my daughter has know, built of old redwood, not to be replaced.

    I appreciate your effort to put it all in perspective. Lots of good, thoughtful stuff on your blog. I’ll be back to visit!

  5. Lisa permalink
    February 29, 2008 9:34 pm

    Thanks for stoppingy by Cindy. It is kind of strange to think (logically) that one could get attached to a building, but a home is more than just wood and concrete. It takes on a personality of its own. I don’t know that I am uncomfortable being attached to it.

  6. Lisa permalink
    February 29, 2008 9:34 pm

    Thanks for stoppingy by Cindy. It is kind of strange to think (logically) that one could get attached to a building, but a home is more than just wood and concrete. It takes on a personality of its own. I don’t know that I am uncomfortable being attached to it.

  7. Angelina permalink
    March 1, 2008 7:34 pm

    I know I’m not. To me it’s a natural thing to become attached to a house that is serving you well. plus, I think they all have spirits.

    Maybe I’m a lot more like my mother than I am comfortable with. Hmm.

  8. Lisa permalink
    March 2, 2008 6:26 pm

    I tend to agree with you Angelina. I think we all get attached to certain physical things in our lives, whether they are photos, mementos, or houses. I think houses seem to have (or do have) personalities or spirits because they are actual containers and witnesses of so much life rather than a representation of one image, like a photo.

Leave a Reply

