Skip to content

Good Clean Fun

February 25, 2008

One of the unexpected benefits of making soap was on my mind today as I was whipping up a batch of Honey Spice Cake soap (sorry Angeleen that it’s taken so long). It’s obviously great to be able to keep myself supplied with soap in a manner that that I wouldn’t be able to afford if I didn’t make it myself. It’s also nice to be able to go down to my basement soap storage area and browse the scents anytime I run out in one of the bathrooms.


Here’s the unexpected benefit: I get to help my friends and family in a very real way, with problems that they have been having. Whether it is someone with very sensitive, dry skin, scent sensitivities or someone who is cutting out certain ingredients because they are allergens. I can fiddle with my soap recipe and usually come up with something that meets their needs. That’s is a pretty good feeling. Sure they may be able to find a similar product by another soap maker or beauty product manufacturer, but I know that it always makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside to get something that was made just for me, tweaked for my needs by somebody that I like.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    February 25, 2008 2:30 pm

    Mike and I wont’ use soaps other than the ones you make anymore. The warm, fuzzy feeling gets passed back, because I love knowing we are supporting you in something that we are really hooked on.

  2. Angeleen permalink
    February 25, 2008 4:34 pm

    Yea! More of The Good Stuff on the way!

    I LOVE your soap! Thanks for making more Honey Spice Cake (after I badgered you nearly to death… sorry) 🙂

    Can’t wait to see you and the girls and Angelina on the 7th!

    (Beautiful photo, by the way… That’s totally MY SOAP! Woo Hoo!)

  3. Lisa permalink
    February 25, 2008 7:06 pm

    Thanks Mom!

    Don’t worry Angeleen, I needed the badgering. I was procrastinating so much. Besides, other people wanted honey spice cake too, so I wasn’t only letting you down!

    We are looking forward to the 7th, too. 🙂

  4. Angelina permalink
    February 25, 2008 8:00 pm

    Me too!! (About the 7th)

    I love your soap too. I want to learn to make it for myself but I love the soaps I bought from you from my shop. I feel like you make a super high quality product. I’m so impressed with your soap making abilities.

    The lime one is still my all time favorite.

  5. Lisa permalink
    February 25, 2008 8:05 pm

    Angelina-I’ll show you how to make it when you are ready to learn.

    I like the lime too. I’ve been wanting to try a ginger lime variation for some time and since you made the grapefruit ginger bath bombs, my interest has been stronger. I would have made some, but I didn’t have any limes on hand to add some zest to the soap. Maybe next time. Oh, I also don’t have fresh ginger oil, but I think I might experiment with the other ginger oil and see how it works with the lime.

  6. Angelina permalink
    February 26, 2008 6:15 pm

    I have lots of the fresh ginger oil and you can use what you need of it for a batch of soap. The other ginger has a dry musty smell and won’t give the same zingy spicy freshness. I think I would LOVE that combination in a soap!!

  7. Lisa permalink
    February 26, 2008 9:04 pm

    Maybe we’ll have to do a trade of ginger oil for ginger lime soap.

    I have to say though, that I did mix up some ginger oil that I do have with some lime oil for my baking soda hair wash, because that is how I sometimes try out experimental scent combinations, and I didn’t dislike the smell of the ginger lime combination, even though it wasn’t fresh ginger. I know you think that it smells musty, but it doesn’t smell musty to me so much as it smells earthy and that earthiness tones down the lime, which I find borders on too much sweetness and brightness.

Leave a Reply

