Skip to content

Breaking the Swiffer Addiction

February 21, 2008

In my quest to green up my household in the cleaning department I have changed many things. One thing I haven’t been able to shake, however, is my Swiffer Wet Jet addiction. I love that you can spray the cleaner with a push of the button, how the head swivels, that you don’t have to rinse it in water to finish mopping the floor. I know it isn’t mopping in the truest sense of the word, but it is a floor cleaning device and it gets my floors clean enough for me. I don’t love that I am throwing a pad away every use, spraying toxic chemicals on my floor or creating a bottle that I need to recycle every time I finish using a bottle of spray. What’s a environmentally-conscious homemaker to do?

I think I might have the answer. I have only about half a bottle of Wet Jet solution left and I decided that I should start looking for a fix to this problem before I was completely out just in case I had some problems with the process. I think I might have found the solution the first try, though.

First off, what could I use for a pad? How about finding a way to attach an old diaper onto the Swiffer? One old diaper and two large binder clips later, voila:

Now, it doesn’t glide quite as smoothly as the disposable pads, but that just means you burn a few more calories when you are mopping.

For the cleaning solution, I just used a spray bottle of my multi-purpose cleaner which might have been a diluted Mrs. Meyers solution or a baking soda and vinegar mixture or since I couldn’t detect a scent, it might even have been plain water but I don’t think it was just water. It cleaned the floors just fine, didn’t cost more than a few pennies, didn’t create any trash and didn’t leave my house smelling of chemical fragrance like the Wet Jet solutions does.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. april. permalink
    February 21, 2008 6:29 am

    oh, I used to swiffer with vinegar water! It works great! In fact when I bought my original system, I remember putting the chemicals in a jug and giving them away. I should look around in the garage, I probably still have one. And then I wouldn’t have to invite little girls over and give them old cloths and spray bottles anymore! ha!

  2. Evelyn permalink
    February 21, 2008 2:06 pm

    Sounds like you came up with a good solution.

  3. Lisa permalink
    February 22, 2008 12:20 am

    April-Did you just spray with a regular spray bottle or were you able to fill the Swiffer bottle and use it?

  4. april. permalink
    February 22, 2008 12:57 am

    i’ve been able in the past to refill the container that comes with a swiffer. i haven’t tried inserting a different spray bottle. (i’m seriously going to go look for mine right now!)

  5. Angelina permalink
    February 22, 2008 5:50 pm

    Now I want a swiffer (but without their chemicals). I have yet to find a satisfactory way to clean any of my floors.

  6. Lisa permalink
    February 22, 2008 6:01 pm

    I bet you could find one at Goodwill or even on Freecycle instead of getting a new one.

Leave a Reply

