Skip to content

Fishing for A Phone

February 17, 2008

You know what I got to do today? Fish my cellphone out of a public toilet. That’s right. At Maddy’s tae kwon do tournament, I had to use the facilities and as I reached to flush, my phone slid out of my pocket into the the toilet. My two and a half month new phone. It is not old, so I had to save it before it swirled down and then I had the task of washing it without getting it too wet and also washing and washing again, my hands. Ewww. I couldn’t spend $150+ on a new one, so I had to do the disgusting deed and rescue it. After getting all the water shaken out and drying fairly well, it seems to be functioning okay.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Prairie Momma permalink
    February 17, 2008 5:36 am

    Yuck! So very sorry that happened to you. I have to tell you, though, that I know exactly how you feel. One Sunday the worship team I sang with was leading the Sunday morning services. I headed to the lady’s room between services, and you guessed it, I knocked the nifty little box that makes your microphone wireless right into the bowl. Of course I fished it out. What are you going to say to the tech guys, “By the way, here’s part of my mic – the rest is floating down the pipes below us…..” I had to at least confess to one of the guys so they could make sure it was OK, and he has yet to let me live it down. I feel your pain……

  2. april. permalink
    February 17, 2008 7:00 am

    I’ve fished plenty of things out of my own toilets, but I don’t know if I would have the same quick reaction out in public. maybe we should all carry aquarium nets on our person.

  3. Evelyn permalink
    February 17, 2008 2:15 pm

    I can understand how you must have felt. I almost had that happen to me at work. I was lucky though and it hit the floor instead. I was also lucky it didn’t break because the floor made out of ceramic tiles. Mike has dropped a couple of his in water. One was when some friends of ours got married and the clip caught on the plastic chair on the wooden dock and the phone went into the water. He used a fishing net and was able to get it out.

  4. Angelina permalink
    February 17, 2008 4:10 pm

    That is such a bummer!

  5. Lisa permalink
    February 18, 2008 4:55 am

    Cathy-That is hilarious. Probably even worse than mine!

    April-I wouldn’t have touched it if it wouldn’t cost so much to replace.

    Mom-Lucky you! May you never have to stick your hand in a public toilet to rescue your phone!

  6. Lisa permalink
    February 18, 2008 4:55 am

    Cathy-That is hilarious. Probably even worse than mine!

    April-I wouldn’t have touched it if it wouldn’t cost so much to replace.

    Mom-Lucky you! May you never have to stick your hand in a public toilet to rescue your phone!

Leave a Reply

