Skip to content

Happy Valentines’ Day

February 15, 2008

aka Singles’ Awareness Day.

Valentine’s Day is kind of a strange day. If you don’t have someone you love you are painfully aware of the lack of that special someone. If you do have someone you are painfully aware that you are expected to produce a present for that someone, especially in the early years of the relationship, espcially if you are the male. If this set-up works for you, then that is probably just what the corporations of America are hoping for.

Since I have been married for twelve years, the lure of a flower, romance and chocolate-filled special day have mostly gone by the wayside. Not that I am unromantic or unfulfilled, because that could be a possible conclusion. What I have realized over the years and the occasional Valentine’s disappointment is that I have something much more important. I have a husband who loves me unconditionally. He loves me if I have put on a lot of pounds since our marriage, if the dishes are usually dirty when he gets home, if I have a sleepless night and snap at him the next day, if I don’t dress up anymore, if I talk incessantly after a couple cups of coffee in the morning. I have a husband who shows his love and faithfulness everyday in small gestures that add up to so much more than a feel good moment on Valentine’s Day. That is worth much more than an inconsequential gift; it is worth even more than an expensive gift of jewelery. It is a gift of self and that can never be bought or even asked for. I’m a lucky woman and I wish all of you as much love on Valentine’s Day and every other day as I have received.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    February 15, 2008 2:14 pm

    I am in full agreement with you on this post. I get so tired of commercials trying to make people feel like they have to buy something or receive a gift. Since I have been with Mike especially, getting a material gift doesn’t matter. Just knowing I have him and he loves me no matter what happens is the best gift I could ever get. I get this gift each day and I am very thankful for it. I am so glad you have that and are aware of it. Happy Valentine’s!

    Mom

  2. Lisa permalink
    February 15, 2008 3:25 pm

    I agree too! Oh, and…

    You have been tagged for the “7 weird things about me” meme. Check my blog and play along!

  3. Yolanda permalink
    February 15, 2008 6:20 pm

    SO glad you stopped by and thanks for your prayers.

Leave a Reply

