Skip to content

Garlic Shoots

February 13, 2008

I spent a bit of time in the garden and yard yesterday. I was raking my lawn as the sun set and I’m quite sure my neighbors and all the many drivers on my street think I’m nuts. What can I say? I’m not really a morning person; I prefer late afternoons and evening.

Look what I have in my garden:

You probably can’t see very well, but they are dozens and dozens of garlic shoots. They are in the left of the picture in the garden bed. I may not have gone out to look at them, if Angelina hadn’t noticed them when she was peeking out at my garden last week.

I’ve never grown garlic before, so it is exciting to see them popping out.

Here’s a closer shot of three of them. Aren’t they green and lovely?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    February 13, 2008 2:37 pm

    Oh how wonderful to see new growth! I love garlic. I didn’t used to but I use fresh garlic in quite a bit of my cooking now.

  2. Angelina permalink
    February 13, 2008 6:07 pm

    Growing garlic is really fun. When you harvest it and see the one bulb you planted has become several. I don’t know why I find it so charming but I really do. I wish I had planted some last fall. Oh well. I’m excited for yours though!!

  3. Lisa permalink
    February 14, 2008 4:21 am

    Mom-I couldn’t cook without fresh garlic.

    Angelina-Since this is my first time, I have some questions. Can you cut the garlic spears (you know for steaming kind of like asparagus) and still get bulbs? I’d like to be able to use all of the plant if possible.

  4. Lisa permalink
    February 14, 2008 4:21 am

    Mom-I couldn’t cook without fresh garlic.

    Angelina-Since this is my first time, I have some questions. Can you cut the garlic spears (you know for steaming kind of like asparagus) and still get bulbs? I’d like to be able to use all of the plant if possible.

  5. Mysti permalink
    February 14, 2008 1:45 pm

    A wonderful reminder that life continues even in the darkest time. 🙂 Spring is on it’s way.. *happy dance*

    It was 68* here in Denver yesterday, and we woke up to 4 inches of snow (and counting) this morning. Lovely Colorado! LOL

  6. Mysti permalink
    February 14, 2008 1:45 pm

    A wonderful reminder that life continues even in the darkest time. 🙂 Spring is on it’s way.. *happy dance*

    It was 68* here in Denver yesterday, and we woke up to 4 inches of snow (and counting) this morning. Lovely Colorado! LOL

  7. Lisa permalink
    February 14, 2008 6:14 pm

    That’s pretty crazy weather. Sounds like New Mexico weather! I remember extremes like that when we lived there.

Leave a Reply

