Skip to content

Monday’s Word, Week #14

February 11, 2008

Basilisk

–noun
1. Classical Mythology. a creature, variously described as a serpent, lizard, or dragon, said to kill by its breath or look.
2. any of several tropical American iguanid lizards of the genus Basiliscus, noted for their ability to run across the surface of water on their hind legs.

[Origin: 1250–1300; ME

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    February 12, 2008 3:55 pm

    I need to find a way to work this word into an everyday sentence! So cool! Maybe I could just call one of my girls that and let them try to figure it out!

  2. Evelyn permalink
    February 12, 2008 5:03 pm

    That would be funny! For some reason I was thinking this was a part of a building. The word mus remind me of something else.

  3. Evelyn permalink
    February 12, 2008 5:03 pm

    That would be funny! For some reason I was thinking this was a part of a building. The word mus remind me of something else.

  4. Lisa permalink
    February 12, 2008 5:42 pm

    Lisa-Let me know if you figure out how to work it in! That would be a great name if one of your girls is super cranky. I think I have one who could get this nickname!

    Mom-I think you might be thinking of obelisk.

  5. Lisa permalink
    February 12, 2008 5:42 pm

    Lisa-Let me know if you figure out how to work it in! That would be a great name if one of your girls is super cranky. I think I have one who could get this nickname!

    Mom-I think you might be thinking of obelisk.

  6. Evelyn permalink
    February 12, 2008 6:08 pm

    Nope it was this:
    basilica

    1541, from L. basilica “building of a court of justice,” and, by extension, church built on the plan of one, from Gk. (stoa) basilike “royal (portal),” the portico of the archon basileus, the official who dispensed justice in Athens, from basileus “king” (see basil). In Rome, applied specifically to the seven principal churches founded by Constantine.

  7. Evelyn permalink
    February 12, 2008 6:08 pm

    Nope it was this:
    basilica

    1541, from L. basilica “building of a court of justice,” and, by extension, church built on the plan of one, from Gk. (stoa) basilike “royal (portal),” the portico of the archon basileus, the official who dispensed justice in Athens, from basileus “king” (see basil). In Rome, applied specifically to the seven principal churches founded by Constantine.

  8. Lisa permalink
    February 12, 2008 6:17 pm

    Duh. I should have thought about that, because I was thinking about a basilica yesterday too!!

Leave a Reply

