Skip to content

Hillary and Monsanto

February 7, 2008

Instead of copying the thought-provoking letter that a would-be Hillary Clinton supporter has written, I am simply going to link to Cheese Slave’s post, since that is where I read it. If you are interested in the safety of genetically modified food, fear the repercussions of Monsanto’s powerful reach and/or are contemplating supporting Hillary Clinton, then please read this.

I don’t and never have personally supported her, so this didn’t significantly change any thing for me, but I know that some of my blog readers might be Hillary fans.

Shameless political plug: You may have noticed my Ron Paul button on the side bar. I think he is the best candidate in a long time. He has opposed the Iraq war from the beginning (i.e. never voted for it), opposed the Patriot Act, the REAL ID act, domestic surveillance, use of torture, the War on Drugs; he supports deregulation of the internet, small farmers, educational choice, lifting regulations on the sale of raw milk, freedom for lay midwives to practice. He also doesn’t accept donations from lobbyists. I could go on, but these are a few issues that are important to me personally, and a sign that he is a candidate that is interested in protecting individual’s rights and fostering peaceful relations with other countries with a policy of non-interventionism.

EDIT: How timely. As I was browsing my MSN homepage, this article is listed at the top of the Money section: Ben & Jerry’s in food-safety fight.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. april. permalink
    February 7, 2008 11:29 pm

    thanks for sharing this! I’m not a Hillary supporter (oh, the thought! I shudder, truly.) but I’ll pass this along to some folks I know who are on the fence. I like Ron Paul, too, but I’m concerned about his potential success as an independent third party candidate.

  2. Lisa permalink
    February 7, 2008 11:41 pm

    I’m concerned about his success as well, but I figure if we don’t support the good guy (or gal if there was one)who we believe in then we won’t ever see true change. There *is* power in numbers. This is clear to me in the fact that Ron Paul is the biggest Republican fundraiser last quarter, despite it being almost soley individual donations and despite being pretty much ignored by the media. I’m not trying to get you all to donate to him, in fact, I haven’t donated any money, but I would if I had some extra! Just using that as an example of power in numbers, despite the odds being against someone. And as sad as it is, it does require money to win. You have to buy ads, etc. or people just don’t hear about you, not to mention paying to have recounts done where there might have been voting fraud, like New Hampshire.

  3. Angelina permalink
    February 8, 2008 2:53 am

    I’m not for Hillary but I’m not going to vote for Ron Paul either. It is intensely important to me to make change but I don’t think Ron Paul will be able to win (even if I wanted him to) and I would rather Obama become the next president than anyone else currently running.

    True change will take a long time and many more presidential terms to accomplish.

  4. april. permalink
    February 8, 2008 7:28 am

    So true, Angelina. Have you seen the Yes, We Can video about Obama? I dismissed him as being too moderate early on, but I admit to being quite intrigued by -and maybe a little hopeful- about him.

  5. Lisa permalink
    February 8, 2008 7:26 pm

    If Ron Paul weren’t running at all, including as a Libertarian or independent, I would probably vote for Obama, though I disagree with some of his platform.

    I do agree that true change will take a long time. It will also take lots of people becoming interested in change, which isn’t the case now, I feel. Also, though the president has wide, sweeping powers, especially our current president who just takes as much as he can, whether legal or not, a president only can enact so much change. It really has to come from the people. I see it starting, but it needs to grow to become pervasive.

Leave a Reply

