Skip to content

Homemade Laundry Soap, Part Two

February 6, 2008

A couple of years ago, I attempted to make my own semi-gelatinous laundry soap from a recipe I got online. The soap turned out fine according to the instructions, but it didn’t clean as well as I liked. I had a more than half a five gallon bucket full of the stuff and I didn’t finish using it as laundry soap, we just used it around the house for other purposes, including washing the vehicles.

I was inspired to give it another try by Cheese Slave, however. You all know that I am sucker for anything I can make on my own and stop buying from a commercial source. She posted this laundry powder recipe, so I thought I would at least try it out.

The ingredients are pretty simple. Soap, which I grated in my food processor…

Borax and washing soda

And plain baking soda, with the option of adding essential oils, which I did. I squirted a couple of dropperfuls of lime, orange and lemon oils.

Then I mixed it all up really well and came up with this:

Hopefully it works well for our laundry needs. I used 1/4 cup of white vinegar in the rinse cycle. I haven’t used Downy-type softeners for quite awhile.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    February 6, 2008 3:58 am

    Can’t wait to hear how well this works! I use to make the laundry snot too, but now I have one of those HE washers, and well, they just work differently. I don’t know if the gel stuff would process well in the machine.

  2. april. permalink
    February 6, 2008 4:38 am

    oh! i made my own laundry soap for *years* with a similar recipe (i used kirk’s coco castile soap or a bar of dr. bronner’s, not the fels naptha) and i’ve been thinking about giving it a try again, but i have a front loading machine now and i’m not sure how it would work. i guess it’s worth it to try, huh? we’re not really talking a big investment or anything. it’s so cheap. and i like the aesthetic of having a big bucket and a ladle by the washing machine of gelatinous goop to scoop in each load.

  3. april. permalink
    February 6, 2008 8:59 am

    I realized after I commented that what I meant to say was that I made a recipe that sounded like the sort you tried out initially, but your last picture looks like your new homemade detergent is a dry powder? yeah, I’ve never done that before. but i’m interested in hearing about your results.

  4. Evelyn permalink
    February 6, 2008 1:46 pm

    I am interested in hearing the results. Sounds great!

  5. Angelina permalink
    February 6, 2008 4:42 pm

    But, you meant to say “washing soda” not “baking soda” right?

    I can’t wait to hear the results. As you know, I have tons of Mrs. Meyers to go through first, but when I’m out I plan to try making a lot of my own cleaners too. I’m starting with the tooth powder though because I’ll be done with my toothpaste in a couple of weeks.

  6. Lisa permalink
    February 6, 2008 5:24 pm

    Lisa-I’m not sure how it would work in an HE machine either. I have an old top loader that is still working fine, though I covet a new front loader.

    April-This is a powder, that’s why I decided to give it another try.

    Mom-I’ll let you all know how it goes.

    Angelina-Nope, I meant to say baking soda, because it has both washing soda and baking soda. The washing soda and borax are right above the photo. I didn’t take a picture of baking soda, because I figured everybody knows what that looks like!

Leave a Reply

