Skip to content

The Best Laid Garden Plans

January 28, 2008


I spent a good part of the day planning my garden. I have a list of the varieties I will grow. I ordered the seeds I didn’t already have from previous years. I even figured out where, in the garden, I am going to place some things.

Here is a comprehensive list of what I am planting. If it has an asterisk behind the name, it is a new variety that I am trying out this year.

  • Basil-Sweet Basil-Italian Large Leaf*
  • Beans-Rattlesnake (Pole)*
  • Beets-Crosby Egyptian*
  • Broccoli-Nutribud*
  • Brussel Sprouts-Oliver
  • Cabbage-Derby Day
  • Carrots-Royal Chantenay, Atomic Red
  • Cauliflower-Early Snowball*
  • Chives
  • Cilantro-Large Leaf* (This is a variety that has been specifically bred for the leaf, rather than the seed, which apparently most US varieties are and also why they bolt so quickly)
  • Cucumber-Diva*
  • Eggplant-Pingtung Long
  • Kale-Red Russian*
  • Leeks-Large American Flag*
  • Lettuce-Territorial’s Super Gourmet Salad Blend
  • Luffa-Seven Happiness Hybrid
  • Melons-Golden Gopher Muskmelon
  • Nasturtium-Whirlybird Choice Mix*
  • Onions-Clear Dawn, Yellow Sweet Spanish*
  • Parsley-Dark Green Italian Plain
  • Peas-Sugar Ann, Sugar Snap*, Lincoln (shelling)*
  • Peppers-California Wonder, Early Jalapeno, Big Jim*
  • Potatoes-Austrian Crescent Fingerlings*, whatever else I find at our local garden center
  • Pumpkins-Small Sugar*
  • Radishes-Cherry Belle, French Breakfast*
  • Scallions-Yellow Sweet Spanish*, Red Beard
  • Spinach-Bloomsdale Long Standing*
  • Summer Squash-Vegetable Marrow*
  • Swiss Chard-Charlotte*
  • Sunflowers-Dwarf Pastel Mix*, Lemon Aura*
  • Tomatoes-Koralik, Stupice, Cherokee Purple, Gardener’s Delight Cherry, Opalka*, Black Krim*, German Orange Strawberry*
  • Winter Squash-Zeppelin Delicata, Spaghetti

Following are things I already have planted in the garden:

  • Garlic
  • Marjoram
  • Oregano
  • Parsley (I will need to plant more, which is why it is in both lists)
  • Rosemary
  • Sage
  • Tarragon
  • Thyme

It might be important for you to know (or it might not be) that all the varieties with asterisks are new varieties that I have purchased this year. I only purchased open pollinated and not hybrid seeds this year. I purchased all my seeds and seed potatoes from Pinetree Gardens. I have ordered from them once before and was happy with their product. These are all items that will be planted in my vegetable garden plot, which is on my average city-sized lot.

I am contemplating putting in some blueberry bushes in another part of my yard, but haven’t completely decided.

On a very different note, if you’d like that olive oil cracker recipe from the previous post, you can find it here: 101 Cookbooks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    January 28, 2008 2:30 pm

    What a list! You are so ambitious!

    Thank you for letting me know where the recipe is for the crackers. I am going to have to try that. I wonder if I could add chipotle sauce to the dough for a bit of a zing. Walmart has a brand of chipotle crackers but I don’t buy them very often because they are not very healthy. These sound yummy! When I try them I will let you know how they turn out.

  2. Evelyn permalink
    January 28, 2008 2:30 pm

    What a list! You are so ambitious!

    Thank you for letting me know where the recipe is for the crackers. I am going to have to try that. I wonder if I could add chipotle sauce to the dough for a bit of a zing. Walmart has a brand of chipotle crackers but I don’t buy them very often because they are not very healthy. These sound yummy! When I try them I will let you know how they turn out.

  3. Angelina permalink
    January 28, 2008 4:17 pm

    Isn’t the snow beautiful!?

    Did your broccoli turn out well last year?

    I want to do cilantro and am interested in the kind you’re getting but I haven’t seen them before in the other catalogs so I’ll bet it’s unique to Pinetree.

    Nice list!

  4. Lisa permalink
    January 28, 2008 8:16 pm

    Mom-That sounds like a great idea. I would just add the sauce to the olive oil and add them to the dry mixture together.

    Angelina-The snow was very gorgeous. We saw it coming down late last night. It always amazes me how bright it makes the night.

    My broccoli was okay. It grew well, but it bolted fairly quickly, the stems were woody after they bolted and it got really bad bug problems; I don’t think they were aphids. I am trying a new variety this year for that reason. The young broccolis that I harvested were quite tasty though, in that variety.

    I can give you some of my cilantro seeds when they arrive. Pinetree is a great place to buy from if you want to try varieties without a huge investment. Their seed packets are smaller, but way cheaper for the most part. And their seed potatoes were really reasonable. 3 lb of regular potatoes for $5.50 and 1 lb of fingerlings for $4.50.

Leave a Reply

