Skip to content

The House of Affliction

January 23, 2008

We all succumbed to the affliction. Maddy is pretty much better, with only a lingering cough. Isabel is pulling out of it and Juliana is better than yesterday. Lawrence and I are better than yesterday too, but still not good. This thing kicked our butts. I don’t even know what it is. Bronchitis? Flu? I don’t know, but we spent all day yesterday either in bed or on the couch. Lawrence was feeling okay in the first part of the day, so he made some chicken soup, but then he got hit hard and was right there on the couch with me popping ibuprofen and dozing. Hopefully, we will all be better by tomorrow. Maddy got it first and hers seemed to be bad for about 2 1/2 days.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Angeleen permalink
    January 23, 2008 3:25 am

    GAH! Poor people!

    Thinking good thoughts for you and hoping we’re not heading for the same…

    We all went through a mostly minor throaty thing, but Anna was sent home today with a bad sore throat, 101.4° fever and body aches… Uh oh….

    BE WELL!!!

  2. Evelyn permalink
    January 23, 2008 2:19 pm

    I am so sorry for all of you! I hope you all get better quickly.

  3. Prairie Momma permalink
    January 23, 2008 5:53 pm

    Thanks for the reminder that I need to get our Immune Booster made!!! I have my herbs here and my bottle of vodka, and after hearing your blogs and this illness, I think I’ll get that done today. Sorry you have to be sick, but I appreciate the motivator.

  4. Lisa permalink
    January 23, 2008 6:36 pm

    Angeleen-Thanks! I hope Anna isn’t coming down with something similar. That’s how it started for us, fever, achy body and head ache.

    Thanks Mom.

    Cathy-What’s your Immune Booster?

  5. Prairie Momma permalink
    January 23, 2008 9:00 pm

    Go to http://www.bulkherbstore.com/ and look for Immune Booster. It’s a mixture of different herbs that I make into a tincture. I use the Vodka version for John & I and a vegetable glycerin one for the children. I can’t stand the sweet of the glycerin which is why I’m trying the vodka version. We’ve been using it for several years now with great success. Doesn’t keep us totally free from any illness, but it is amazing how quickly we get back on our feet after taking this. Aunt Kathy and Mom have also been using it for a while.

  6. Prairie Momma permalink
    January 23, 2008 9:00 pm

    Go to http://www.bulkherbstore.com/ and look for Immune Booster. It’s a mixture of different herbs that I make into a tincture. I use the Vodka version for John & I and a vegetable glycerin one for the children. I can’t stand the sweet of the glycerin which is why I’m trying the vodka version. We’ve been using it for several years now with great success. Doesn’t keep us totally free from any illness, but it is amazing how quickly we get back on our feet after taking this. Aunt Kathy and Mom have also been using it for a while.

  7. Yolanda permalink
    January 23, 2008 9:05 pm

    I hope all of you are better soon. Sending you hugs and good health.Did you ever mention where you get your milk from locally?

  8. Lisa permalink
    January 23, 2008 9:13 pm

    Cathy-I couldn’t find anything on there. Is it a recipe? I saw the Double E-Immune Booster. Is that the same?

    Yolanda-Yes, I did list who I got my milk from. I also listed where I buy our meats. You can go back to that post for the whole list. As for milk, we get it from Kookoolan Farms in Yamhill, however, they have a huge wait list, twice as long as their current customer list, because they are limited by Oregon law to having only three cows. If you are only looking for milk in glass jars (and not raw milk), you might try Noris Dairies. They do delivery as they aren’t carried by local groceries any longer.

  9. Prairie Momma permalink
    January 24, 2008 4:29 pm

    Lisa, it is the Double Immune Booster. On the left, go to “preparing remedies”. It goes through making teas, capsules, and towards the end, tinctures. Hope that helps.

  10. Lisa permalink
    January 26, 2008 5:34 am

    Thanks Cathy!

Leave a Reply

