Skip to content

Monday’s Word, Week #10

January 14, 2008

Coloratura

–noun
1. runs, trills, and other florid decorations in vocal music.
2. a lyric soprano of high range who specializes in such music.

I was reading my current book (Mozart’s Wife) and was reminded of this word. When I first heard it, I was unaware that it had to do with music, I thought it had to to do with color or light or the interaction between color and light.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    January 14, 2008 8:20 pm

    What a pretty word, I like it.

  2. adriana permalink
    January 14, 2008 8:28 pm

    That’s what my operatic voice is, is coloratura.

Leave a Reply

