Skip to content

Monday’s Word, Week #9

January 7, 2008

Last week being New Year’s Eve, I forgot to post my Monday word.

Today’s word is remora. I had never heard this word until I heard Lawrence use it in reference to Isabel and Juliana (when Isabel was younger and attached to me).

–noun
1. any of several fishes of the family Echeneididae, having on the top of the head a sucking disk by which they can attach themselves to sharks, turtles, ships, and other moving objects.
2. Archaic. an obstacle, hindrance, or obstruction.


I don’t find it that flattering, really, either for myself or the babe who is being called a remora. I suppose it is slightly better than a barnacle.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    January 7, 2008 11:26 pm

    I used to refer to Max as my barnacle. But I probably would have called him a remora if I had known what the heck it was.

    How’s the investigation of the possible opportunity coming along?

  2. april. permalink
    January 8, 2008 12:08 am

    no, not flattering so much in that context, but what a great word! i like the second definition best.

  3. Casa de Lulu permalink
    January 9, 2008 5:51 am

    I think I will start to call my kids that: a remora. But do I have to change it to the masculine when referring to my son Sam? Because he he a definite remor-o.

  4. Lisa permalink
    January 9, 2008 10:20 pm

    It is a great word, isn’t it? Sometimes my hubby surprises me with little tidbits of knowledge like this.

Leave a Reply

