Skip to content

Cookies Are Done!

December 22, 2007

With a little help from my elves, I finished our annual cookie baking and gifting. I made eight varieties:

  • Biscochitos (a traditional New Mexican holiday cookie)
  • Christmas Biscotti
  • Double Chocolate Mint
  • Espresso Shortbread
  • Mocha Crinkles
  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip
  • Pumpkin Chocolate Chip
  • Russian Tea Cakes
  • I think I made too many or gave away too few this year because we still have a ton left. Having too many cookies leftover is the reason I started giving away cookies in the first place. I love to make lots of cookies for the holidays but if I make several varieties then we have so many left over that we would be even fatter than we are now if we kept and ate all of them.

    Cookie central here at our house

    This year when I pondered the containers that I would use to package the cookies in, I felt wrong going out and buying new plates or tins like I did last year. All the packaging waste that is associated with Christmas really weighs heavily on me. I decided to go to a local thrift store and scout out what they had. I found some good holiday baskets, plates and tins in nice shape to use. I didn’t buy anything that I wouldn’t be happy to receive myself and felt very good about reusing items for packaging.

    Don’t I have some of the cutest elves you’ve seen?

    Now, I’m off to use the 3 1/2 or 4 hours that Lawrence has granted me by taking the girls out. I need to finish gifts and try to get some wrapping in. Maybe you’ll see a second post from me today showcasing some embroidered gifts!

    3 Comments leave one →
    1. Angelina permalink
      December 23, 2007 7:41 am

      Uh, I ate all my cookies already. I ate almost all of them myself. They were super good. My favorite one of all is the peanut butter one. The second favorite was the Russian tea cookie. (I let Philip eat quite a few too.)

      I’m glad you got some time to work on projects!

    2. Angelina permalink
      December 23, 2007 7:41 am

      Uh, I ate all my cookies already. I ate almost all of them myself. They were super good. My favorite one of all is the peanut butter one. The second favorite was the Russian tea cookie. (I let Philip eat quite a few too.)

      I’m glad you got some time to work on projects!

    3. Evelyn permalink
      December 23, 2007 4:34 pm

      I agree with you, you have three of the cutest elves around. I keep thinking I will get back into making cookies for Christmas gifts, but it just doesn’t seem to happen. Who knows, maybe next year.
      Mom

    Leave a Reply

