Skip to content

Cream of Mushroom Soup for the Soul

December 17, 2007

Last week when I was making my weekly menu, I had a hankering for baked chicken and rice (tee hee hee, hankering makes me sound so Southern, huh?). All the recipes I’ve come across call for cream of mushroom soup. I didn’t want to buy that vile, non-food, canned stuff, so considered scrapping the whole idea. Then I remembered a thread several months ago on a Yahoo group that I am belong to. It was a very similar issue, except that person wanted to make tuna noodle casserole. Another member shared her homemade cream of mushroom soup recipe. That was the ticket.

Last night I started the soup thinking it would be a nice rich, base for the chicken and rice. It ended up being so much more. The earthy, oniony, creamy smell was overwhelming the kitchen so I had to take a taste. It was divine. I wanted to ladle up a whole bowl and eat it right there, but I had to keep the long term goal in mind: chicken and rice. I did dish out small sample bowls to the three girls who pronounced it a smashing success and requested that I made a pot of it for dinner one night very soon. The chicken and rice turned out very well, the rice was so mushroomy and delicious, but it was a bit under salted which always ruins a dish for me, because even if you add salt at the table, it doesn’t have exactly the same flavor as a properly salted dish would have. The only picture I have for you is the pint of soup that I froze up for the next dish requiring a can of cream of mushroom soup. I can also post the recipe if there is any interest.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. april. permalink
    December 17, 2007 9:14 pm

    is that just a regular jar? how long do you leave glass in the freezer? i have *tons* of old jars (i save anything with a lid) and while i use them for leftovers or drinks-to-go and such, it would be awesome if thought i could freeze in them, too. but i’m thinking maybe yours is a sturdier canning jar?

  2. Lisa permalink
    December 17, 2007 9:53 pm

    Mom, I’ll post the recipe tomorrow.

    April, it is just a regular canning jar, but I bet it would work in regular product jars. I would have frozen it in one yesterday because that is the first kind of jar I grabbed, but I couldn’t find a matching lid, so it went into a regular pint canning jar. If you try freezing in a jar, just remember to allow plenty of head room for expansion. I even leave the lid off until it is frozen just in case.

  3. Angelina permalink
    December 18, 2007 2:54 am

    Oh lordy lou- I really am excited about seeing that recipe tomorrow!

    I’ve been experimenting with freezing in glass jars. I plan to defrost some soup from last month and see how it is.

    I really wish I could have had cream of mushroom soup for dinner. Mushrooms are something I can get at Harvest Fresh from local sources…oh YUMMMMMMM.

  4. Angelina permalink
    December 18, 2007 2:54 am

    Oh lordy lou- I really am excited about seeing that recipe tomorrow!

    I’ve been experimenting with freezing in glass jars. I plan to defrost some soup from last month and see how it is.

    I really wish I could have had cream of mushroom soup for dinner. Mushrooms are something I can get at Harvest Fresh from local sources…oh YUMMMMMMM.

  5. Lisa permalink
    December 18, 2007 5:58 pm

    I was thinking of you when I was making it, Angelina, because I knew you could get all local ingredients for it. I know you also like mushrooms.

  6. Lisa permalink
    December 18, 2007 5:58 pm

    I was thinking of you when I was making it, Angelina, because I knew you could get all local ingredients for it. I know you also like mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

