Skip to content

Challah

December 16, 2007

In Maddy’s curriculum, we are studying Jewish holidays and traditions, so her hands-on activity this week was making challah. Maddy being Maddy she has hemmed and hawed about having to make “stinky” challah, ever since she saw it on her schedule. She did the majority of the work in measuring, mixing, kneading and I helped here and there where she was unsure and also braided one of the loaves. See how gorgeous they turned out? This is the loaf I braided:

That was yesterday. We ate one loaf with dinner last night, leaving us with two loaves today. I just had to make some french toast with one of them and it was mighty delicious with melty butter, pure maple syrup and a squirt of whipped cream.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 17, 2007 2:11 pm

    I think that is such a good idea for her to do things like that. How did the loaf turn out that she braided? Boy does it look yummy!
    Mom

  2. Lisa permalink
    December 17, 2007 6:21 pm

    The two she braided looked very nice too. I was going to take a picture of all three, but dinner was waiting and so were hungry children, so I didn’t take the time to pull my camera out.

  3. Angelina permalink
    December 18, 2007 2:55 am

    Bravo Maddy!

    That looks really delicious.

    I don’t think I get to have syrup for a year. bummer. While jam and butter are great, nothing can replace syrup on the menu.

  4. Angelina permalink
    December 18, 2007 2:55 am

    Bravo Maddy!

    That looks really delicious.

    I don’t think I get to have syrup for a year. bummer. While jam and butter are great, nothing can replace syrup on the menu.

  5. July 6, 2009 4:17 am

    One of the best parts of Challah, stale makes the greatest french toast! Beautiful job!

    • July 6, 2009 11:26 am

      Yes, it does! Thanks for visiting. You have a beautiful blog. I’ve bookmarked it to explore further.

    • July 6, 2009 11:28 am

      Yes, it does! Thanks for visiting. You have a beautiful blog. I’ve bookmarked it to explore further.

Leave a Reply

