Skip to content

Barely Dragging My Way to Christmas

December 12, 2007

Thanksgiving came early this year. That should mean that I am ahead of the game in Christmas preparations, right? Wrong.


It’s not only that I’m running behind on the girls’ gifts; it’s that I’m behind on most Christmas preparations. We haven’t even started on cards. It is a tradition for us to make cards for everyone on our list, but that might not happen this year. I’m thinking of sending out a Christmas letter for the first time. They can seem kind of cheesy at first, but I think the main reason it attracts me is that family and friends always want to see a picture of the girls and find out how they are (not everyone is a blog reader, though that would be the easiest way to keep up). A Christmas letter is an efficient way to do both of these things. So, we may do that this year and add some personal touches from the girls. I also haven’t done any planning for our cookie baking. Last year we baked up a lot for friends and customers, but I don’t know if we will get to it this time. I love Christmas, but something threw me off this year. Maybe it was Lawrence being out of town and us not getting our tree up when we normally do. Perhaps that threw off my sense of tradition and order. Whatever it is, I have less than two weeks to get my act together!! The one thing we did get done on time was buying, wrapping and shipping the gifts for the family that we adopted for Christmas. Maddy actually did all the wrapping because it is something she really enjoys; if she hadn’t volunteered to do that, we might not have shipped them yet!

On a more upbeat note, I have been selling lots of soaps lately. I will have to make a whole bunch to restock my supply after Christmas. An acquaintance came over to drop her daughter off for a play date yesterday and she saw all the soaps I was packing to send out to my mom, who ordered a whole bunch for Christmas gifts and she started smelling them and bought three, then offered to take some to the meeting that she was going to because she loves to support local merchants. She only sold one, but I was so thankful to her because she has what I lack-an outgoing personality and an ease with promoting. I am sorely lacking in those qualities.

On a downer note, somebody hacked into my Ebay account yesterday and sent out 27 spam emails, so I have to go and change my passwords for many things now just to be safe. Hackers SUCK.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    December 12, 2007 10:23 pm

    Yay for the soap selling!

    Some Christmases are just like that- running late. You’ll get there. I haven’t done cards either.

    Hackers really do suck. How did you find out that someone hacked in?

  2. Angelina permalink
    December 12, 2007 10:23 pm

    Yay for the soap selling!

    Some Christmases are just like that- running late. You’ll get there. I haven’t done cards either.

    Hackers really do suck. How did you find out that someone hacked in?

  3. Lisa permalink
    December 12, 2007 10:37 pm

    I actually got a couple of the copies of the emails the hacker sent, in my inbox. At first I thought they were spoof emails, then I got an email from Ebay saying my account had been suspended because of suspicious activity, then I actually went into my account (not from the email) and found out that it really had been hacked into. What a pain. I never click on those fake Ebay emails and I ran a deep virus scan on my computer, so I don’t know how they got my info.

  4. Lisa permalink
    December 12, 2007 10:37 pm

    I actually got a couple of the copies of the emails the hacker sent, in my inbox. At first I thought they were spoof emails, then I got an email from Ebay saying my account had been suspended because of suspicious activity, then I actually went into my account (not from the email) and found out that it really had been hacked into. What a pain. I never click on those fake Ebay emails and I ran a deep virus scan on my computer, so I don’t know how they got my info.

  5. april. permalink
    December 13, 2007 7:07 am

    i am so behind this year, too. we have a tree up finally but i haven’t made cards or anything.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    December 13, 2007 1:39 pm

    I think the Christmas letter is a good idea sometimes just to update everyone.
    I am sorry to hear about the ebay hacker.
    I have more done ahead of time this year and I still feel like I am running behind.
    Mom

  7. Anonymous permalink
    December 13, 2007 1:40 pm

    I think the Christmas letter is a good idea sometimes just to update everyone.
    I am sorry to hear about the ebay hacker.
    I have more done ahead of time this year and I still feel like I am running behind.
    Mom

  8. Mysti permalink
    December 13, 2007 2:57 pm

    We are so behind as well. I have to take the cards to the PO today.. My husband and I made an attempt at shopping for the kids last night, but ended up buying food and getting some sushi. Complete idiots. LOL

    You are not alone.. 😉

Leave a Reply

