Skip to content

A Job Well Done

December 6, 2007

I have to take a moment to brag on Lawrence.

The welding inspector who inspected all his structural welds on the coast house told Lawrence that the hospital in our town that got a recent addition (and the structural steel work performed by a larger, local business) had about a 30% fail rate for the welds. This inspection consists of a visual inspection of the weld and then if it passes a visual, the inspector uses his machine to do an ultrasound inspection. Lawrence’s project on the coast had two or three times as many welds (weird I know considering it is a residence, but it is due to location, environment and engineer’s choice of fastening methods it ended up with more welds) and guess what his fail rate was? 0%. That’s right out of dozens of welds, he didn’t fail a single one and he was welding in wind and rain on some occasions. I am so proud of him. This was great because it also meant less work, a failed weld means removing the bad weld, cleaning the steel and re-welding. The inspector gave this information in front of our customer and our customer was so happy that chose Lawrence for the job and proceeded to tell everyone they came across that afternoon about Lawrence’s accomplishment.

PS I’m sorry for any of you grinches out there (and you know who you are and I know there is probably more than one of you) who might tire of the Christmas decor and then find that my blog is now sporting a holiday look. Rest assured, I take my holiday decorations down in a fairly timely manner. It’s only a few weeks to bear!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    December 6, 2007 2:33 am

    That is absolutely fantastic! Please tell Lawrence I am so proud of him. He must be feeling pretty good!
    Also, I think your blog looks very pretty. Can you spruce mine up for the holidays if you have time? I never think about just changing it for a short time. What a great idea!
    Mom

  2. Laura permalink
    December 6, 2007 5:23 am

    That’s so cool. I’m proud of him too.

  3. Lisa permalink
    December 6, 2007 11:28 pm

    Yes, Mom, I’ll spruce up your blog sometime this week.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    December 7, 2007 3:37 am

    Thank you! I like the picture!
    Mom

  5. Angelina permalink
    December 7, 2007 6:47 pm

    I’m not at all surprised and you have every reason to be proud!!

    Oh yes, I am one of the grinches…but you know, I really enjoy the decorating part of Christmas now, in my dotage. I still can’t stand Christmas music or movies, but the rest of it is pretty nice. I think your holiday blog-get-up looks festive.

Leave a Reply

