Skip to content

Monday’s Word, Week #5

December 3, 2007

Today’s word: prevaricate.

–verb (used without object), -cat·ed, -cat·ing.
to speak falsely or misleadingly; deliberately misstate or create an incorrect impression; lie.

Yesterday I didn’t post because it was a rare day with Lawrence; he got home Saturday night and we all spent the day together. We went and cut our Christmas tree (for $8!), spent time at Lowes planning a future bathroom upgrade and then purchasing a light fixture for my kitchen and forgetting to buy a furnace filter in all of our wishful thinking. So, that is my reason for not posting; I’m not prevaricating.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Prairie Momma permalink
    December 3, 2007 8:12 pm

    How funny!!! We love that word!! My boys have this saying “You have the audacity to doubt my veracity and insinuate that I prevaricate??” I hope I spelled it all correctly. So, now you have a few more words to ponder. Great one!!

    Glad you enjoyed the day together as a family. I have been praying for you because I can remember the times that it’s been swamped at work, and John would sometimes sleep in the car in town because he was literally working 20 hours a day!! Mortgage is really like farming and metal work – you have to put up hay while the sun shines. So glad you were given a little to romp in the hayfield together!!!

  2. Evelyn permalink
    December 3, 2007 9:19 pm

    I have always liked the sound of this word.
    I am so glad you all got a day together. Wow, that is a good price for a tree. Someday I am going to try having a real tree again. I know there are some that don’t have as much aroma as others. I like the smell, but I much prefer being able to breath.
    Mom

  3. Evelyn permalink
    December 3, 2007 9:19 pm

    I have always liked the sound of this word.
    I am so glad you all got a day together. Wow, that is a good price for a tree. Someday I am going to try having a real tree again. I know there are some that don’t have as much aroma as others. I like the smell, but I much prefer being able to breath.
    Mom

  4. Angelina permalink
    December 4, 2007 12:39 am

    I’m so glad you got to spend some time together. I’m also glad Lawrence wasn’t on the coast yesterday. I hope he’s not out there today…is he?

  5. Angelina permalink
    December 4, 2007 12:39 am

    I’m so glad you got to spend some time together. I’m also glad Lawrence wasn’t on the coast yesterday. I hope he’s not out there today…is he?

  6. Lisa permalink
    December 5, 2007 7:22 pm

    Cathy- Your kids crack me up. We were actually very lucky with Lawrence’s work situation. He had free use of a wonderful house on the coast that was just a two minute walk from the jobsite. Otherwise he would have been camping out or sleeping in the truck. He actually did sleep in his tent two nights before he got keys to the house!

    Mom-For $8-or $10 bucks you could at least try having a real one.

    Angelina-He’s mostly done on the coast for awhile. So, we have him home for now.

Leave a Reply

