Skip to content

A Challenging Project

December 2, 2007

I decided to get off the fence and tackle that welder cover that I had been putting off for so long. As it turns out, I probably should have ignored it longer because anything that could have gone wrong pretty much did-cutting a piece of fabric the wrong size because my notes from months ago were wrong and then having to piece some together to get to the right size, having to re thread my serger about three times because I forgot how to do it correctly since I haven’t had to re thread it in ages, having the bobbin on my sewing machine run out of thread (and having to wind it), running out of the color of thread I chose, having the bobbin on my second thread choice run out (and obviously having to wind that too), cutting a piece of fabric wrong because I guess I wasn’t paying attention, having to rip out a seam to cut down said wrongly cut fabric.

Need I go on? It is, however, done now. It was a big piece (two feet tall, two and a half feet wide and almost four feet long) and made out of heavy canvas, so I’m tired now.

That square hole is supposed to be there, it’s for the exhaust pipe to stick out of.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. april. permalink
    December 2, 2007 8:39 am

    what an accomplishment! that must have been a bear to wrestle under a sewing machine.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    December 2, 2007 3:09 pm

    Oh my goodness, what an accomplishment. I can understand why you are tired! Congratulations for getting this done!
    Mom

  3. Angelina permalink
    December 2, 2007 5:27 pm

    Oh my-you got a spam comment!

    That is one heck of a project to tackle and seems like one for which mistakes are par for the course. Big pieces are especially challenging. But it looks like you did a great job, and…no it’s off your to-do list. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

