Skip to content

Procrastination

November 29, 2007

I admit it; I can be a procrastinator. Take the most recent case: I’ve had fabric for at least six months, probably longer, that I bought for so I could sew a cover for Lawrence’s welder. It is usually in the back of his truck and has had issues in the past because of rain infiltrating it’s innards. I felt sure I would complete it over the summer in time for the rainy season. Well, the rainy season has been here for well over a month and the fabric is still in it’s bag on my sewing mountain table. I also started on winterizing my garden and lost steam with that. It started raining and it’s so unpleasant to be out there in cold rain that I lost the momentum and now when we have a sunny day here or there I don’t feel motivated to go out there. Am I going to let the leaves slime away on my grass, leave my tomato plants in the ground until spring? That is the question. Another case, my pot pie making. I finally did it, but geez, it took several weeks of being on the menu.

I suspect that procrastination is tied into being chronically late, tardy, if you will.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 29, 2007 9:21 pm

    I remember a time when I was harassed by a certain sister for being such a procrastinator. LOL!

  2. Yolanda permalink
    November 29, 2007 9:26 pm

    Me too. I procrastinate all the time.

  3. Evelyn permalink
    November 30, 2007 2:38 pm

    I have been really bad at that lately. I wanted to clean off Mike’s drafting table(stuff I need to sort thru) because he isn’t using it right now and it is perfect for sorting thru all my pictures so I can scan them and put them on CD’s for Lisa and Laura. So, of course I haven’t started on that either because I still don’t have the table cleared off. Hopefully I can finish that this weekend. Mom

  4. Angelina permalink
    November 30, 2007 5:38 pm

    I procrastinate all the time but for me the cause is a little different. The worse I am putting things off the more I have to examine my mental health because it is most often congruent with a bout of depression. In my case I avoid doing things because they seem so impossible to approach and the long I wait to do them the harder they seem to accomplish.

    I always leave my tomatoes until the spring. I’m not saying that’s a good thing. But I do. Philip actually removed them last week-end in a kind of freak interest of his to get household things done. I was suitably impressed.

  5. Angelina permalink
    November 30, 2007 5:38 pm

    I procrastinate all the time but for me the cause is a little different. The worse I am putting things off the more I have to examine my mental health because it is most often congruent with a bout of depression. In my case I avoid doing things because they seem so impossible to approach and the long I wait to do them the harder they seem to accomplish.

    I always leave my tomatoes until the spring. I’m not saying that’s a good thing. But I do. Philip actually removed them last week-end in a kind of freak interest of his to get household things done. I was suitably impressed.

  6. Lisa permalink
    November 30, 2007 9:26 pm

    See Laura, I was correct correct to harrass you, you were a bad influence on me. 😉

    Angelina, yay for Philip. I wish I had that same motivation.

    Yolanda and Mom, my fellow procrastinators. Good luck in the things you have been putting off. I’d love to have a cd of photos, Mom.

  7. Anonymous permalink
    November 30, 2007 9:45 pm

    And I would love to give each of you a CD of photos. Don’t give up on my. I will get it done.
    Mom

  8. Laura permalink
    November 30, 2007 11:44 pm

    If only the harassment had worked. I still do it all the time.

Leave a Reply

