Skip to content

An Exercise in Futility?

November 28, 2007

I’m at the heaviest weight I have ever been. In September I decided that I seriously needed to workout regularly. I eat a pretty healthy diet, so if I work out and don’t eat out much, I do reasonably well in the weight loss area. My greatest problem is staying motivated to exercise. I have an elliptical machine in my living room and a Tivo full of recorded shows to make the time pass faster, but since I hate to exercise it’s all really forced.

The other problem is that once I get into a routine something happens that disrupts my tenuous routine. Most frequently what has been happening is that I get sick. It’s almost as if my body is rebelling against the exercise. I had a really decent stretch of workouts in Sept and Oct, a good three weeks of five times per week then BAM a bad head cold that lasted for a couple weeks. Then I recovered and worked out another handful of times and got sick again with something that I think turned into a mild case of bronchitis. Just yesterday I decided to get on that elliptical again and try to get back into a routine. Wouldn’t you know I wake up this morning with a sore throat. Now having a cold isn’t so bad but I can’t breath as well when I have a cold and when you are out of shape and working out you already breath heavier; having diminished breathing capacity because of illness and then trying to work out just isn’t a good idea, I think.

I’m not going to let my body’s rebelliousness keep me from working out though, I still got on for a little more than half my usual time and I’m going to diligently pop the echinacea, vitamin c and even some cloves of garlic today and hope that I can breath (and swallow) a little easier tomorrow.

Isn’t it ironic that I almost never get sick and when I decide to make a lifestyle choice that will ultimately make me healthier I suddenly get sicker more frequently than ever before?

EDIT: I forgot to say that those few weeks when I was very regular with exercise, I managed to lose four pounds, so I was progressing very well. Now I’m afraid to weigh myself again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 28, 2007 9:13 pm

    That is part of what kept happening to me. Everytime I would do any major exercising I would end up sick. Laugh if you want, but I started wondering if it was toxins working their way out. That is one reason I decided to eat lighter, avoid things I know my body doesn’t do well with, and just start exercising a little each day. Now that I am feeling better I think I can do more and not have that happen. I am glad you are not going to give up. Hang in there, you will make it work!
    Love, Mom

  2. Laura permalink
    November 29, 2007 12:35 am

    It might help if you detox before you start your exercising. Maybe you could do stretching and such while you’re detoxing. It might help keep you from getting sick when you start.

  3. Lisa permalink
    November 29, 2007 12:43 am

    I’d love to do a detox, but since I’m still nursing Juliana, I can’t. Good suggestion. I will definitely be doing one after she weans.

  4. Angelina permalink
    November 30, 2007 5:34 pm

    That is exactly what happens with me. I wonder if it’s a case of the body detoxing as we get back into exercising and the detoxing is why we get sick? If I don’t get a cold right when I get into a good routine, my back goes out.

    Good for you with the determination and also the weight that you lost while you were in a good mode!

  5. Lisa permalink
    November 30, 2007 9:28 pm

    Thanks Angelia, I’m pretty sure that I put it all back on.

Leave a Reply

