Skip to content

Hives

November 24, 2007

We’ve never experienced hives around here before. Until this week, that is. At least that is what I think Isabel had. She seemed fine on Monday after her vomiting, fever and lethargy on Sunday. Tuesday morning at about 5:00 she threw up again. Then she was fine again. Then she got a huge welt on Tuesday evening. At first I thought she had a spider bite…I was fearing a hobo or brown recluse because I do stuff like that. Then another one popped out, then two or three more within the hour. I finally pinpointed the probable culprit was hives. I didn’t and still don’t have a cause, but she did get a couple more on Wednesday and then again on Thursday. None on Friday. I wonder, does getting hives once predispose one to getting them in the future? I’ve never had them, so it is new for me.

Here’s one on her hand on Wednesday. It was quite uncomfortable for her so I’m glad they are gone.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 24, 2007 2:52 pm

    I hate to give you the bad news, but getting hives once doesn’t keep you from getting them again. I used to get them when I was gradeschool. I think mine were caused by nerves. The worst ones I ever got was when Mom and Dad were in New Jersey for a conference. Mrs. Lewis(friend that was staying with us) had me sit in lukewarm water in the tub with baking soda in it. It really helps. I know people can get hives due to allergies also.
    Mom

  2. Evelyn permalink
    November 24, 2007 2:52 pm

    I hate to give you the bad news, but getting hives once doesn’t keep you from getting them again. I used to get them when I was gradeschool. I think mine were caused by nerves. The worst ones I ever got was when Mom and Dad were in New Jersey for a conference. Mrs. Lewis(friend that was staying with us) had me sit in lukewarm water in the tub with baking soda in it. It really helps. I know people can get hives due to allergies also.
    Mom

  3. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 24, 2007 6:29 pm

    Hopefully, this will ease any worry. My pedi told me that 95% of the time they never know what causes the hives on children. They just happen. Not to worry. She had me take a sharpie and mark around the edges of the hives. As long as they don’t grow out of that area – no worries. If they expand and keep expanding, then she said to come in. Obviously, if she had been on some kind of antibiotic, you’d worry. More than likely (speaking from experience) some children will break out in hives after being ill because it is simply more of the virus presenting itself through the epidermis (sounds very fancy, but basically, the germs have to come out some way :)). I’m sorry to agree with your mom, but it might and probably will happen again. I would consider myself lucky to have lasted this long with nobody breaking out in hives. Yahoo!!! Baking soda/bath water or oatmeal/bath water works wonders. With the oatmeal, but a cup full in an old pair of knee highs or pantyhose foot, tie a knot and pop it in the water. My kids loved to have me wash their body with the hose as it eased the itching and burning. Good luck. We’re still dealing with this awful flu at our hose – now it’s moved to the respiratory stage – which means croupe with C since he seems to get it every year. One day they’ll be grown, though, and we just might miss these times…….maybe……

  4. Lisa permalink
    November 24, 2007 6:35 pm

    Mom-I know that getting hives doesn’t make you immune to them. I was wondering if it predisposes you to more.

    Cathy-Thanks for the tips.

  5. Laura permalink
    November 24, 2007 6:55 pm

    I get hives and to get rid of them I take parsley capsules.

  6. april. permalink
    November 24, 2007 10:03 pm

    oh, that looks so uncomfortable! have you been able to pinpoint any possible culprit?

  7. Lisa permalink
    November 25, 2007 2:46 am

    Thanks for the tip Laura. Do you take them when they first appear or as a preventative measure?

    April, I am leaning towards it being related to the stomach thing. Apparently, the majority of the time you don’t really know for sure what caused it.

  8. Laura permalink
    November 26, 2007 4:28 pm

    I should take them to prevent them but I don’t. But I do take them to get rid of them.

Leave a Reply

