Skip to content

Monday’s Word, Week #3

November 19, 2007

Vitriol

noun
1. (H2SO4) a highly corrosive acid made from sulfur dioxide; widely used in the chemical industry
2. abusive or venomous language used to express blame or censure or bitter deep-seated ill will


I like the way this word sounds. I didn’t realize, until I looked it up to copy the definition, that it is actually a specific acid. I think it sounds like a brand name. It makes me think of hair grease; the kind greasers from the 50’s would comb through their hair with those black plastic combs that they pulled out of their pocket.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 20, 2007 2:41 am

    It makes me think of a liquid old time medicine for some reason.
    Mom

  2. Anonymous permalink
    November 20, 2007 4:04 pm

    This word came up quite a bit in a fantasy series I read years ago (The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant)by Stephen Donaldson. He used lots of words that I had to look up, increasing my vocabulary! I like the sound of it.
    Aunt K

Leave a Reply

