Skip to content

Thankful for Thanksgiving

November 17, 2007

I love Thanksgiving. I’m thinking of my Thanksgiving meal right now and planning for it. Our local veggie farmers, Oakhill Organics, are doing custom harvests for holiday meals. This has got me thinking about what we will eat. I also need to go to Harvest Fresh today and reserve a free-range Shelton turkey.

I love turkey and stuffing and gravy and pumpkin pie. Will you be surprised to tell you that Lawrence doesn’t like turkey or stuffing? He really likes a lot of things. I am realizing that he sounds like a picky eater from my posts and he isn’t so much. He will eat anything without griping, but liking it is a different thing altogether.

Last year I made pumpkin pie from actual pie pumpkins last year and the result was so fantastic that I have vowed not to make them from canned pumpkin again.

Since we don’t have a lot of family around, I don’t feel the pressure that many people do in meal preparation and hostessing or being at some body’s house. That’s not to say that I don’t wish we had more family around, but it certainly does alleviate the stress that it seems many people associate with the holidays. Since it is typically just the five of us, whenever dinner gets finished is just fine. We aren’t held to a timeline or feeling stressed that we half many guests and a half-done turkey. I will still be planning on making larger-than-normal amounts of our favorite Thanksgiving dishes and hopefully this year I will remember to set the cranberry sauce out before we are halfway through our meal.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 18, 2007 12:17 am

    I love to spend Thanksgiving with family, but I think the key is not to stress over it. So what if dinner is not ready at a certain time. The world will not come to an end. I am glad we have Laura and her family to spend Thanksgiving with(I will be glad when we can all spend it together), but Laura and I try to keep it low key and enjoy it. Since Laura and I both are watching our calories(and with good results) we are keeping Thanksgiving dinner simple but delicious. I love turkey, but I am not much into stuffing. I would love to taste your free-range Shelton turkey. Oh yum, sounds soooooooooo good!
    Mom

  2. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 18, 2007 5:32 am

    I hear you on the stress. John’s dad wants to eat on a regular schedule, and although they don’t typically share Thanksgiving with us, they have been here for the last several years at Christmas. I used to stress, until John stepped in. His dad had asked for the 3rd or 4th time when dinner would be ready, and John (who cooks our Christmas filet mignons) said it would be ready when it was on the table. Now he did say this nicely – but he got the point across. I just want to enjoy the time with family at ALL holidays – not stressing. So, we eat when it’s ready, we get up when we feel like it, we clean up when we feel the need, we play games as long as we want, and we enjoy some more leftovers – if you want to dig them out of the refrigerator because I probably won’t do it. Don’t mean to be a tacky hostess, but I do hate the idea of the holidays losing their true meanings because of the stress we place on ourselves. So, enjoy that food and family. We had hoped to eat our own home grown turkey this year, but alas, we discovered that turkeys truly are dumb animals. Sorry if you’re a turkey lover, but it’s true. We didn’t lose a single chick out of 42 – except for those two turkeys. So, my hands to the folks who can grow them out to sell you one. John’s not real keen on turkey meat, so maybe there was more to their demise than actual stupidity on their part…..hmmmmm, something to think about…..

  3. Yolanda permalink
    November 18, 2007 10:27 pm

    We don’t have much family around either but I still enjoy the tradition of it. We drove up meadow lake road today past Carlton and there was snow. It was really neat tosee though. Hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving.

  4. Lisa permalink
    November 19, 2007 12:27 am

    Mom-Hopefully sooner rather than later you will be able to try my free-range Shelton turkey on Thanksgiving!

    Cathy-I like your philosophy. I actually stopped cooking on Christmas a couple years ago and love it. I decided I was missing too much of the fun and play by trying to plan a large dinner. So, we have a large Christmas Eve dinner and then leftovers.

    Yolanda-That’s a beautiful drive. I can’t believe there was snow! I hope you have a great Thanksgiving too!

  5. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 19, 2007 5:05 pm

    I love the idea of a big Eve dinner and leftovers!! I don’t think I’ll be able to implement that this year as the expectations are already in place, but I’m going to start campaigning for that next year. Thanks for the idea!!!

Leave a Reply

