Skip to content

Cheesy, Cheesy Goodness

November 15, 2007

If your husband has to go out of town, you might as well look on the bright side and recognize the positives, right? The two biggest positives are these:

  • a. I get the remote to myself, no more trying to decide between the History Channel (all war, all the time) or TLC or a movie; I get to make these choices on my own.
  • b. We indulge in the foods that I refrain from making when Lawrence is here because he doesn’t like them; some of these dishes include homemade mac and cheese, pad thai, and pot pies. Some other food indulgences would include McDonald’s and Muchas Gracias.

I know. McDonald’s is bad. Bad for you, big bad corporation, etc. But where else can you get a Big Mac? Are you surprised that someone who is so committed to local and health foods otherwise would surrender to the temptation of a Big Mac? I hope you haven’t lost your faith in me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 15, 2007 8:42 pm

    Everybody surrenders to some type of temptation now and then. I think it is very thoughtful of you to make those things when Lawrence isn’t around since he doesn’t like them. If you ask me, it’s a win/win situation. And enjoy that Big Mac.
    Mom

  2. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 15, 2007 9:36 pm

    I LOVE BIG MACs! Why is that. I mean they aren’t wonderful cuisine made with the healthiest of items (I’m not sure whether that’s really beef – it sure isn’t Angus) – but then, I just don’t care. There is nothing that beats a Big Mac and their fries!! Of course, being the healthy people we are, we always drink our own water bottle and never consume one of those unhealthy sodas. 🙂 That’s how i justify my McD attack. ENJOY it without any guilt. You’re loved no matter what!!!

  3. april. permalink
    November 15, 2007 10:14 pm

    well, it’s not exactly mcdonald’s but when i was at ikea the other day, i sure did give in and buy some hydrogenated-oil-laded cinnamon rolls! we all give in to something now and again.

  4. adriana permalink
    November 15, 2007 11:31 pm

    Seriously, I don’t understand a life without mac and cheese, pad thai, and pot pies. I weep for him.

  5. Lisa permalink
    November 16, 2007 11:30 pm

    Cathy-Are you kidding me about the bottled water? I drink a Coke with it!

    April-I love cinnamon rolls. I’ve never been to Ikea though, so I haven’t tried theirs. I’d love to get out there someday.

    Adriana-I know. Isn’t it sad? He doesn’t like frosting either.

Leave a Reply

