Skip to content

Walking in Grandma’s Sandals

November 14, 2007

Juliana cracks me up. She insists on wearing sandals with socks or tights. She has perfectly cute boots, but still the sandals have been the thing to wear more frequently. It reminds me of a grandma, especially when she wears them with dark socks or tights. Kind of like one of my grandmas, in fact.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 14, 2007 6:32 pm

    That is so cute! Reminds me of when you used to insist on wearing a knit ski cap in the middle of summer with sunglasses and a shorts set and sandals. lol
    Mom

  2. adriana permalink
    November 14, 2007 6:54 pm

    Chuck does the same thing, no matter how many times we tell him he looks like an old grandpa. He’d go around LA with white sport socks halfway up his calves and slip-on sandals. *slapping forehead*

    It’s adorable on Juliana, though.

  3. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 15, 2007 3:38 pm

    Be careful, ladies. I can’t tell you how many times over the last couple of years I’ve found myself doing more and more things I swore I’d never do – although I have yet to wear my hair in curlers as I go to the grocery store. Just be ready for that day when you realize “YIKES!!! I have become my mother, grandmother, grandpa, dad, crazy Uncle Bill” – Whatever the case may be……..

  4. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 15, 2007 3:38 pm

    Be careful, ladies. I can’t tell you how many times over the last couple of years I’ve found myself doing more and more things I swore I’d never do – although I have yet to wear my hair in curlers as I go to the grocery store. Just be ready for that day when you realize “YIKES!!! I have become my mother, grandmother, grandpa, dad, crazy Uncle Bill” – Whatever the case may be……..

  5. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 15, 2007 3:43 pm

    Ooops. Sorry about the double entry. See what I mean. I couldn’t remember if I hit enter, so I did it again. I’m telling you, once the old age starts to sink in – you’re doomed!!!!! Oh, I have to add to that, the other day I was waiting for John to meet us in Edgewood as the children would head home (with my driving daughter :)) while he and I went to Abq. I was talking to a friend on my cell, then I realized he might try to call me. I started looking in my purse for my phone, in my pockets, on the dash under the seat, on the floor. I’m panicking at this point because I can’t imagine what I’ve done with the phone. Rebecca quietly asked what I was looking for (she suspected she knew). As I told her my phone, she almost busted up as she pointed to my ear. Now, that is just plain dumb or old age setting in. No comments on your thoughts, please, I’m just trying to warn you now while you have time to prepare. Also, tell J to try some red socks for a splash of fun every now and then.

  6. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 15, 2007 3:43 pm

    Ooops. Sorry about the double entry. See what I mean. I couldn’t remember if I hit enter, so I did it again. I’m telling you, once the old age starts to sink in – you’re doomed!!!!! Oh, I have to add to that, the other day I was waiting for John to meet us in Edgewood as the children would head home (with my driving daughter :)) while he and I went to Abq. I was talking to a friend on my cell, then I realized he might try to call me. I started looking in my purse for my phone, in my pockets, on the dash under the seat, on the floor. I’m panicking at this point because I can’t imagine what I’ve done with the phone. Rebecca quietly asked what I was looking for (she suspected she knew). As I told her my phone, she almost busted up as she pointed to my ear. Now, that is just plain dumb or old age setting in. No comments on your thoughts, please, I’m just trying to warn you now while you have time to prepare. Also, tell J to try some red socks for a splash of fun every now and then.

  7. Lisa permalink
    November 15, 2007 5:52 pm

    Mom-I do remember doing that actually, with my Monroe Shocks hat. I clearly remember walking though the Skaggs parking lot.

    Adriana-That visual of Chuck is too funny.

    Cathy-What’s in the air there at the ranch! You are too young to be getting dementia. 🙂 J. does spice it up with hot pink socks on occasion. I don’t think she’s worn red with the sandals yet. I don’t even know if she has red socks!

  8. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 15, 2007 7:18 pm

    Maybe it’s this drought we’ve been having. It’s drying up my brain cells. Or it could just be these children are draining the intelligence right out of me……

Leave a Reply

