Skip to content

Monday’s Word, Week #2

November 12, 2007

The word for today is mercurial.

–adjective
1. changeable; volatile; fickle; flighty; erratic: a mercurial nature.
2. animated; lively; sprightly; quick-witted.
3. pertaining to, containing, or caused by the metal mercury.
4. (initial capital letter) of or pertaining to the god Mercury.
5. (initial capital letter) of or pertaining to the planet Mercury. –noun


This was the dictionary.com word of the day on Saturday and it reminded me how much I like this word. In high school I once made a mixed cassette (come on, you remember those!) and titled it “A Mercurial Collection.” I’m pretty sure I still have that cassette down in the basement, too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 12, 2007 7:29 pm

    I like the way this one just rolls off the tongue. I have always liked the sound of this word.
    Mom

  2. april. permalink
    November 12, 2007 9:42 pm

    i like this word, too. i still make mix cds! (and actually have a few original mix tapes riding around in my car).

Leave a Reply

