Skip to content

A Busy Saturday

November 11, 2007
Lawrence was planning on coming home and attending a homeschool potluck with us last night, so I figured it would be a rare treat for him to come home to a clean house. We (meaning Maddy and I) worked many hours on getting the house cleaned up. Isabel mainly entertained Juliana, which is a huge help, but she put in a little dusting and wiping here and there. She also helped clean her “desk” which is generally the biggest eyesore in the dining room, equal to my sewing table. She diligently sprayed and wiped the surface many times, trying to get old pencil and marker markings off. She even finished her bottle of cleaner and I had to make more for her. Each of the two older girls have their own bottle of cleaner, which is scented with the essential oils of their choice. Isabel chose her own blend this time. Orange clary sage. I suggested lime clary sage in one of my original offerings and she thought up the orange clary sage combination herself. It smells really nice. That was a long tangent that I hadn’t been planning. Juliana helped wipe of some woodwork too, then it quickly lost it’s novelty. Maddy helped wherever necessary, as long as she had her MP3 player, she was willing to work.

Cleaning always takes so much longer that I anticipate it will. Is it just because our house is messier than I think it is, or because I am optimistic? I suspect I am optimistic and that this also ties into my perpetual tardiness. I also had to fit in the preparation of the two dishes I was taking to the potluck (apple cake and brussel sprouts, if you were wondering).

We did manage to get the whole downstairs pretty clean. The kitchen took the most work, because it is used the most, besides the living room. I scrubbed the stove top and front, cleaned the microwave, scrubbed the sink, and Maddy wiped the front of the cabinets. The piece de resistance, however, was the counter tops. I cleared them of all unnecessary items and wiped them and then windexed them. They haven’t looked this good in a very, very long time.

Look how shiny!

You can even see the reflection of the coffee carafe and french press!

The potluck was a wonderful time of chatting and getting to know people I already like. We even had the unexpected pleasure of our milk and chicken farmers attending, though they aren’t homeschoolers, they are crazy nonconformists like the rest of us so they fit right in. The hosts even own a bouncy house, which was the highlight of the evening for most of the kids. The hosts own a vineyard/winery, so the good wine (this is hearsay since I don’t actually like wine) was flowing and there was delicious food aplenty. There was even a Wurlitzer jukebox which was hypnotizing the toddlers with its colorful, flashing panels and rising bubble tubes. The biggest downer of the evening was that the weather turned beautiful on the coast yesterday, so Lawrence worked all day instead of heading home in the early afternoon. It was great for Lawrence to get nice weather to work in and advance his work load, but it was disappointing for us because by the time he got back into town it was really too late for him to head over and he was very tired.

April, if you are reading this, we missed you and your family. Several people were asking if you would be there. You and Sheila, who you met at the movie, will hit it off, I bet.

This is just a random picture that I thought I would include because I think the colors are great and I love all the kids buried in the leaves. I got this in my inbox this week. It was from a birthday party we attended last weekend.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 12, 2007 2:50 pm

    Sounds like you all really went on a cleaning spree! Doesn’t that feel good! Bummer that Lawrence didn’t make it in time for the get together but good that he was able to get some good work time in.
    Mom

  2. Evelyn permalink
    November 12, 2007 2:50 pm

    Sounds like you all really went on a cleaning spree! Doesn’t that feel good! Bummer that Lawrence didn’t make it in time for the get together but good that he was able to get some good work time in.
    Mom

  3. Lisa permalink
    November 12, 2007 7:13 pm

    Yes to all of the above.

  4. Lisa permalink
    November 12, 2007 7:13 pm

    Yes to all of the above.

Leave a Reply

