Skip to content

The Past Frontier

November 10, 2007

You know what would go so well with my coffee this morning? Of course, many things may come to your mind, but since you aren’t psychic, why don’t I just cut to the chase and tell you? A Frontier sweet roll. The Frontier is an iconic restaurant in Albuquerque directly across from the university. Their sweet rolls are so soft and sweet and drippy with butter. If you haven’t had one before, you are missing out. I know, there are going to be you people out who have had them and don’t like them, but you would probably be the same people who dislike chocolate or something weird like that.

I haven’t had one of these in so long. It has been more recently than when I used to hang out there while skipping my after lunch French class in high school, but it has still been many years. I must make it a point to get one next time we are in Albuquerque along with Greek food from Olympia, sopapillas, BlakesLotaburger, oh darn…I know I’m missing things from my list now. I guess I should write it down instead of maintaining a mental list.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 11, 2007 1:21 am

    Frontier’s are fine, but I have to tell you that I do prefer ones made with whole wheat flour. I wouldn’t consider myself a snob, but I honestly just enjoy the “nutty” taste you get with whole wheat flour – especially freshly ground. Also, when you’re here next you have got to make sure you try Aunt Kathy’s cinnamon rolls. We are thrilled every time she brings us a pan. Usually we get a pan in trade for a couple of jugs of milk. Awesome deal if you ask me – especially considering the fact that I don’t even milk the cow!!

  2. Lisa permalink
    November 11, 2007 5:42 pm

    I didn’t know Aunt Kathy made cinnamon rolls. She was holding out on us last year!

    I wouldn’t turn down any cinnamon roll, not even whole wheat. I honestly like most cinnamon rolls. Frontier’s just have a certain appeal, maybe most of it is linked to the nostalgia surrounding it, but I still think they are tasty.

  3. adriana permalink
    November 12, 2007 6:30 pm

    Olympia’s a definite, Sopapillas a definite, Frontier rolls a definite…

    My list also includes:
    -Tempeh Burger from Flying Star (formerly Double Rainbow). YUM.
    -Frontier pancakes and hot chocolate in glass mug with marshmallow
    -Call me crazy, I love me some Dion’s Pizza with Ranch Dressing on the side

    I’m starting? to finally get green chile? A bit? It’s taken me a long time, and stomach issues didn’t help, but I’m starting to want that, too.

    I know there’s more that I’m forgetting.

  4. adriana permalink
    November 12, 2007 6:30 pm

    Olympia’s a definite, Sopapillas a definite, Frontier rolls a definite…

    My list also includes:
    -Tempeh Burger from Flying Star (formerly Double Rainbow). YUM.
    -Frontier pancakes and hot chocolate in glass mug with marshmallow
    -Call me crazy, I love me some Dion’s Pizza with Ranch Dressing on the side

    I’m starting? to finally get green chile? A bit? It’s taken me a long time, and stomach issues didn’t help, but I’m starting to want that, too.

    I know there’s more that I’m forgetting.

  5. Anonymous permalink
    November 12, 2007 11:44 pm

    I wasn’t holding out, really. I just recently started baking bread. Rhoda gave me her old bread machine, and I’ve been going nuts! Baking in the machine, and using it just to make the dough, too. I found a recipe that duplicates the Earth Grains Honey Wheat Berry bread that we have been eating for years. Uncle Len told his cousin that he actually likes mine better! Whoa! He also loves the cinnamon rolls. So, I’m delighted to take requests next time anyone comes home. When I asked what I needed to do the bread and the rolls, he said, “Make more!” Sweet!
    And, I’m lovin’ this barter system!
    The milk! Ohhhhhhhhh!
    Aunt K

  6. Lisa permalink
    November 15, 2007 5:59 pm

    Well, I’ll certainly be requesting them then! I love the barter system too. I wish we could trade bread/cinnamon rolls for milk. We pay $10/gallon for raw milk here.

Leave a Reply

