Skip to content

Music and Fog

November 8, 2007

Last night we went out to run an errands and while we were out I had the realization that it was open mic night at our local coffee house. The girls always want to go to it, but 7:00 on a Wednesday night is usually dinner prep and eating time. With Lawrence gone right now and the house feeling a little empty we postponed our errands and headed over. My good friend coordinates open mic, so it was a double benefit.

I really should try to get us to open mic more frequently because every time we go I am reminded, again, of how much talent there is out there. So much unrecognized talent when there is rubbish being produced and advertised, it’s quite maddening really. We had some people doing excellent renditions of old favorites by the Eagles, Beatles and Simon and Garfunkle, but there was a part of a group with original alternative stuff that was much better than I was expecting. The girls didn’t enjoy it as much as I did, but they got steamers and cookies and some hanging out time with friends, so they didn’t complain.

The past couple of nights have been quite foggy and it has been getting foggy fairly early. I love fog. I don’t care to drive in it though, because a person could step off the curb and you could mow over them before you even had time to react. A nice thick blanket of fog is wonderful if you are not driving, however. I love how it softens edges and dampers sound. It wraps you close. Maybe I have a touch of agoraphobia.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. april. permalink
    November 9, 2007 9:18 am

    it has been so foggy! hey, i heard you ran into the rest of my family tonight. they walked with me (i went to the being born movie) and anytime the children go on a walk with brian they think they have to go to the store. so they did.

  2. Evelyn permalink
    November 9, 2007 1:49 pm

    Oh what a delight it would be to go to open night at a coffee shop with you and the girls. I can hardly wait till I can do that. I am sure it was especially nice with the house feeling empty with Lawrence gone.
    Mom

  3. Lisa permalink
    November 9, 2007 5:08 pm

    April-How was the movie? I really wanted to go, but with Lawrence out of town, there wasn’t any way for me to arrange it. Teri offered one of her girls to watch them, but since Maddy’s tae kwon do class gets out right in the middle of the movie, it still wouldn’t work! Darn, it was so disappointed.

    Mom-It was nice to be out since Lawrence is gone. Hopefully we will get to do it with you sometime.

Leave a Reply

