Skip to content

The Wonders of Space Utilization

November 6, 2007

Having been inspired by Angelina to take charge of the space you are currently in and use to its maximum and spruce it up so you love it and also spurred by my receipt of more glass jars on Freecycle, I decided I had to make some extra pantry space. The only possibility for this expansion is the basement, because my kitchen is on the small side and the room next to it, my office, is already maxed out on space. The basement presented the problem of being really messy because we usually just put our items to store in a very unmannerly fashion. Several years ago, we put up panel curtains in front of the main storage area to keep it looking orderly. That works to a degree. What happens though, is that we push a curtain aside, put the item behind the curtain and then close it and out of sight, out of mind. This led to a mass of things overflowing the shelves and blocking the walkway directly behind the curtains and oozing out from under the curtains.

My freezer is in the basement, so I decided that close to the freezer would be a logical place for my new pantry area. I have jars, canned goods and kitchen appliances stored in various places in the basement, in my office and pretty much where ever I can find a nook or cranny to stick it. I began to relish the idea of having shelves where it can all be consolidated and I can stand in one spot and take inventory in one long glance. This is kind of important to me, because bulk ordering a lot of your food once per month necessitates knowing what you have and what you need. You really don’t want to order a gallon of honey when you already have one that you forgot about and couldn’t find!

Here are a couple before shots of scary basement storage area:


See that egg crate foam? That’s where I want my pantry area.

Here are some after shots:

You can’t really tell because of the lighting, but there is nothing on the floor. Just concrete. Nothing spilling off the shelves!

You can see from this shot, there are two sets of shelves. One on the right and one on the left, with my hand stool in the middle to help me look on the shelves that my short self can’t see.

See all my jams on the left shelf? So what if I still have a rack of clothes behind the shelves. I have 31.2 square feet of new shelf space!!

I desperately wanted to paint the walls and maybe even the floor to brighten things up, Angelina and April have been having that effect on me. I decided not to do so at this time. Maybe in the future I will paint that whole wall behind the shelving. I will also probably put fun contact paper on the new shelves because they are just particle board right now. I’d like something I can wipe easily.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 6, 2007 6:03 pm

    Looks much more usable now. You did a great job!
    Mom

  2. Angelina permalink
    November 6, 2007 6:39 pm

    What great work you did! I’m quite impressed. Now you need to fill some more jars, huh? Ha ha ha!

Leave a Reply

