Skip to content

A Dozen Years Together

November 4, 2007

Yesterday was the anniversary of our first date. We have pretty much been together since that first day. It wasn’t a spectacular date by any means. He was very late in picking me up and I thought he was standing me up. He discovered my age halfway to the movies and contemplated driving me back home; I discovered his age and figured at least I would get a free movie out of the night. We saw the mediocre movie (I have to give it points for the period dress and Gary Oldman)The Scarlet Letter. I borrowed his manly,leather motorcycle jacket. We drove home and on the way I directed him to a gas station. Apparently my navigational skills were very impressive because he still remembers my ability find gas stations. It was mostly because I was always running on empty and would only put a couple of dollars at a time into my car and I simply knew where all the gas stations in Albuquerque were. A couple of dollars bought a lot more gas twelve years ago than it does now! There was no kiss, no promise of a second date. Yet the next day, he did call me and we had another date the following night. Ah, new love…We have had so much happen in the last twelve years, but at the same time it is hard to believe that it has been twelve years since that date! Who knew what we were both headed towards! Life is funny sometimes.

Note: Expect to get a post a day out of me for the next month. I joined NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 4, 2007 8:53 pm

    Wow! Twelve years ago already and still going strong! Like you said, so much has happened in that time span.
    I, for one, will enjoy reading a post by you each day!
    Mom

  2. april. permalink
    November 5, 2007 4:38 am

    wow, brian and i went to see The Scarlet Letter on our first date, twelve years ago, too! what a funny coincidence! (we’d met the week before at a dance club, but didn’t actually go on a date til the next week).

  3. april. permalink
    November 5, 2007 4:38 am

    wow, brian and i went to see The Scarlet Letter on our first date, twelve years ago, too! what a funny coincidence! (we’d met the week before at a dance club, but didn’t actually go on a date til the next week).

  4. Lisa permalink
    November 5, 2007 5:07 pm

    Wow! That is a funny coincidence. But your date wasn’t on 11/3, right? That would be an even stranger coincidence. We actually met the week before our date as well.

  5. april. permalink
    November 5, 2007 6:28 pm

    no, we met on the 5th of october, so it was the week after that. but close!

  6. april. permalink
    November 5, 2007 6:28 pm

    no, we met on the 5th of october, so it was the week after that. but close!

  7. Angelina permalink
    November 5, 2007 9:08 pm

    Happy anniversary to you guys! I think it gets so much better when the romance ages into a good marriage. You guys really seem to be going strong and so CHEERS!

  8. Lisa permalink
    November 6, 2007 4:42 pm

    That is close, April. How funny.

    Thanks Angelina! We are still going strong. I like to equate it to a fire. First you have the flames, then hopefully it will settle into a hot, long burning ember. We are an ember now.

Leave a Reply

